Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Nigeria politics

Three Senators peacefully abandon the PDP in favor of the APC.

This week, four legislators switched parties from the PDP to the APC.

Senators Ya'U Sahabi (Zamfara North), Lawali Hassan Anka (Zamfara West), and Peter Nwaoboshi (Delta North) all announced their defections in letters read at plenary on Wednesday, June 30, 2021 (Tope Brown). Sahabi attributed his defection to the 'peaceful and more formidable' APC to internal party strife in Zamfara.

Governor Bello Matawalle, who was officially welcomed into the APC on Tuesday, June 29, was followed by both Zamfara lawmakers.

In a letter to the Senate on Wednesday, Nwaoboshi expressed his defection by accusing the PDP in Delta of "tyranny and egregious failure of leadership." President Muhammadu Buhari welcomed the senator to a party last week. During Tuesday's plenary, Mohammed Hassan (Zamfara Central) formally resigned from the PDP, and Ahmad hinted on Wednesday that he had also joined the APC.

Despite the fact that the constitution states that a politician can only change parties without losing their seat if their current party is in a crisis or unites with another, switching parties for no cause is rarely punished and is prevalent.

Content created and supplied by: Mercigoldzp (via Opera News )

APC Bello Matawalle Muhammadu Buhari PDP Peter Nwaoboshi


Load app to read more comments