Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Politics




Nigeria politics

2023: List of 5 Prominent Politicians That May Succeed Governor Yahaya Bello of Kogi State

As the 2023 Kogi State Gubernatorial Election draws near, the Race over who succeeds Governor Yahaya Bello has commenced in earnest as Prominent Politicians across party lines in the Confluence State are already warming up to take over the mantle of leadership from the incumbent Governor whose tenure 'll elapse on the 27th of January, 2024. Notable among those likely to Succeed Governor Bello are

Governor Yahaya Bello of Kogi State.

1. Chief Edward Onoja 

Onoja is a staunch loyalist of the Governor Bello, The Igala-born Politician hails from Olamaboro Local Government Area of Kogi State. The 46years-old Onoja Banker turned Politician began his political career in 2016 after his appointment as Chief of Staff to Governor Yahaya Bello. Onoja became the Deputy Governor of Kogi State in 2019 after the impeachment of his predecessor, Rt. Hon. Simon Achuba. He served as the Director General of the APC Campaigns for the 2019 General Elections in Kogi State, Onoja played a key role in the victory of the party who won 25 State Assembly Seats, 7 House of Representatives Seats and 2 out of 3 Senatorial Seats.

2. Senator Dino Melaye

Melaye is a well-known Politician within and outside the Political Landscape of Kogi State. The People's Democratic Party (PDP) Topshot is a key loyalist of the immediate past Senate President, Dr. Bukola Saraki. The Ijumu-born Melaye came into political limelight in 2007 after he contested and won Ijumu/Kabba Federal Constituency Seat under the PDP platform. He served in that capacity until 2011. The 46years-old Politician joined the All Progressives Congress (APC) in 2014. During the 2015 General Elections, He was elected to represent Kogi West Senatorial District at the National Assembly under the APC platform. In May 2018, Senator Melaye alongside Saraki and other top Politicians returned to the PDP. He was re-elected into the Nigerian Senate in February 2019 but was removed from office few months later. Senator Dino Melaye participated in the 2019 Kogi State PDP Gubernatorial Primaries but he did not win. 

3. Senator Smart Adeyemi

Adeyemi, 60 is another Top Politician from Kogi West Senatorial District. Prior to his Political Career, The journalist turned Politician has previously served as National President of the Nigerian Union of Journalists (NUJ) from 1999 to 2006. Adeyemi who is an indigene of Ijumu Local Government Council began his political career in 2007 after he contested and won the Kogi West Senatorial Seat under the PDP platform, he served in that capacity until June 2015. His Third-term bid was unsuccessful as he lost to Dino Melaye of the APC during the March 2019 National Assembly Polls. However, Adeyemi later decamped to the ruling All Progressives Congress (APC) and In 2019, Adeyemi re-contested for the Kogi West Senatorial Election and lost initially but was later decleared Winner after a re-run Election was held. Till Date, he holds the record as the Longest Serving National Assembly Member from Kogi State.

4. Engineer Musa Wada 

Musa Wada is the younger Brother of the immediate past Governor of Kogi State, Captain Idris Wada. He hails from Odu, Dekina Local Government Area of Kogi State. The Engineer turned Politician is a Former Managing Director of the Seaview Properties, a Subsidiary of the Nigeria Ports Authority (NPA). Musa Wada came into political limelight in 2019 and contested to become the Governor of Kogi State as the PDP Candidate, but lost to the incumbent Governor Yahaya Bello of the All Progressives Congress. Wada is desirous of seeking the PDP Governorship Ticket once again. 

5. Hon. James Faleke 

The 59years-old Management Consultant turned Politician came into political limelight in 2003 following his appointment as the Executive Secretary of Ojodu LCDA in Lagos State. He is currently a Third-term Lawmaker representing Ikeja Federal Constituency of Lagos State. Faleke is an indigene Ekirin-adde, Ijumu Local Government Area of Kogi State, Hon. Faleke is a Political loyalist of Asiwaju Bola Ahmed Tinubu, a Lagos Strongman and the National Leader of the All Progressives Congress (APC). He was the 2015 Deputy Governorship Candidate of the All Progressives Congress (APC) in Kogi State. 

Who among these Top 5 Politicians do you think is the best to emerge as the Next Governor of Kogi State?

Kindly Like, Share and Comment your Opinion.

Content created and supplied by: Larrykay20 (via Opera News )

APC Campaigns Edward Onoja Kogi State Onoja Banker Simon Achuba


Load app to read more comments