Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Society


Crime Justice



List of EFCC Chairpersons Since 2003 and Regions They Came From

In 2003, Nigeria’s former president, Chief Olusegun Obasanjo, established the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC).

The EFCC was created to investigate financial crimes such as advance fee fraud, money laundering, internet fraud, among others. Since its establishment 18 years ago, the anti-corruption agency has had six chairpersons; five men and one woman.

The current chairman, Abdulrasheed Bawa, was appointed by President Muhammadu Buhari in February 2021.

When Bawa’s appointment was announced, many Nigerians once again accused President Buhari of snubbing other regions in favour of the northern region where he came from.

Was this accusation justified? This piece attempts to answer the question by highlighting all the chairpersons of the EFCC since 2003 and the region they came from to see if one region has occupied the office more than the other between the north and the south.

1. Nuhu Ribadu (2003 - 2007)

Photo credit: Twitter/@NuhuRibadu

Nuhu Ribadu was the pioneer chairman of the EFCC. He was appointed by the Obasanjo administration in 2003. He was removed by the Yar’Adua administration in 2007 under controversial circumstances.

Ribadu, a senior police officer and lawyer, is from Adamawa State in the North-East geo-political zone.

2. Farida Waziri (2008 - 2011)

After Ribadu’s exit, Farida Waziri was appointed in 2008 to head the anti-graft agency in 2008 by the Yar’Adua government.

Waziri who was also a senior police officer was, however, sacked in 2011 by the Goodluck Jonathan administration.

Waziri is from Gboko in Benue State in the North-Central part of the country.

3. Ibrahim Lamorde (2011 - 2015)

Ibrahim Lamorde, also a senior policer, replaced Waziri in 2011. He was in charge of the EFCC till 2015.

Lamorde is from Mubi, Adamawa State, in North-East geo-political zone.

4. Ibrahim Magu (Acting 2015 -2020)

Photo source: Twitter/@Naija_PR

Ibrahim Magu was appointed in 2015 by President Buhari. He, however, served in an acting capacity as the Senate refused to confirm his nomination.

Magu, also a senior police officer, was also removed in 2020 under controversial circumstances. He is from Maiduguri, Borno State, in the North-Eastern part of the country.

5. Mohammed Abba (Acting 2020 - 2021)

After Magu was asked to step aside, Mohammed Abba was appointed the Acting EFCC being the most senior ranking officer in the agency.

He led the EFCC until the appointment of another substantive chairman in February 2021.

Also, a senior police officer, Abba is from Kano State in North-West Nigeria.

6. Abdulrasheed Bawa (2021 - Date)

Photo source: Twitter/@TheNationNews

Abdulrasheed Bawa, the current chairman of the EFCC, was appointed in February 2021. The 40-year-old is the youngest person to head the anti-graft agency.

Also, unlike his predecessors, Bawa is not a police officer. He has spent all his work life at the EFCC which he joined in 2004.

Bawa is from Jega, Kebbi State, in the North-West region.

So far, three of the EFCC chairpersons came from the North-East, two from the North-West, and one from the North-Central. 

Since the EFCC’s establishment in 2003, no one from Southern Nigeria (South-East, South-West, South-South) has headed the organisation.

Content created and supplied by: Abu_Hikmah (via Opera News )

EFCC Economic and Financial Crimes Commission Muhammadu Buhari Nigeria Olusegun Obasanjo


Load app to read more comments