Sign in
Download Opera News App






Check Out The Two States That Existed in Nigeria Until 1991

Nigeria's journey towards independence in 1960 marked a significant turning point in the nation's history. Over the years, the country has undergone tremendous development, and it currently comprises 36 states and the federal capital territory. Interestingly, Nigeria used to have two states that have since been restructured into different states.

The first state, Gongola State, was situated in Nigeria's northern region, as reported by The Guardian. Today, Gongola State no longer exists, having been split in 1991 to form Adamawa and Taraba States. This development marked a significant milestone in Nigeria's history, as it ushered in a new era of decentralization and regional autonomy.

Another state that was restructured is Bendel State, as reported by Vanguard News. Bendel State was divided into the present-day states of Edo and Delta in 1991, marking another significant restructuring exercise in Nigeria's history. This move helped to foster more regional autonomy and enable efficient governance and administration.

In conclusion, Nigeria's history is filled with significant events, including the restructuring of states to enable better governance and regional autonomy. These developments have helped to shape the country's political landscape and create a conducive environment for growth and development.

Kindly like, comment and share it on other platforms for others to enjoy this article. Thanks for reading

Photo Credit Google

Content created and supplied by: TrendingGist001 (via Opera News )

Adamawa Gongola State Nigeria Taraba States The Guardian


Load app to read more comments