Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Society


Crime Justice



List Of Former Inspector General Of Police From 1964-2019

Inspector General of Police, abbreviated as IGP is the head of the Nigeria Police Force. He is the most senior officer in the police force.

Each office includes an inspector general (or I.G) and employees charged with identifying, auditing, and investigating fraud, waste, abuse, embezzlement and mismanagement of any kind within the executive department.

The Inspector General serves as the principal advisor to the Secretary on matters related to promoting economy, efficiency and effectiveness and preventing and detecting fraud and abuse in the administration of Departmental programs and operations.

(1) Louis Edet1964-1966

(2) Kam Salem1966-1975

(3) Muhammadu Dikko Yusufu1975-1979

(4) Adamu Suleiman1979–1981

(5) Sunday Adewusi1981–1983

(6) Etim Inyang1985–1986

(7) Muhammadu Gambo-Jimeta1986–1990

(8) Aliyu Atta1990–1993

(9) Ibrahim Coomassie1993–1999

(10) Musiliu Smith1999–2002

(11) Mustafa Adebayo Balogun2002 – 2005

(12) Sunday Ehindero2005–2007

(13) Mike Mbama Okiro2007–2009

(14) Ogbonna Okechukwu Onovo2009 - 2010

(15) Hafiz Ringim 2010-2012

(16) Mohammed D. Abubakar 2012-2014

(17) Suleiman Abba 2014-2015

(18) Solomon Arase 2015-2016

(19) Ibrahim Kpotun Idris 2016-2019

(20) Mohammed Adamu 2019-till date.

Content created and supplied by: Writcoworld (via Opera News )

IGP Kam Salem1966-1975 Louis Edet1964-1966 Muhammadu Dikko Yusufu1975-1979 Nigeria Police Force


Load app to read more comments