Sign in
Download Opera News App

Public Safety


Crime Justice



Scammers convicted in Abeokuta to refund $6,100 to their victims

On Tuesday, 2 March, 2021, the Economic Financial Crime Commission (EFCC) of Ibadan zonal office has arraigned four internet fraudsters before Justice Mohammed Abubakar of a federal high court situated in Abeokuta, Ogun state.

EFCC officials.

The internet fraudsters were identified as Olawale Ibrahim Damilare, Goodluck Sambo Olatayo, Matthew Anuoluwapo Awoniyi and Samson Olawale Ayomide.

The above pictures are the defendants'.

According to the Economic Financial Crime Commission (EFCC) The internet fraudsters pleaded guilty to one count charge bordering on fraudulent impersonation. The offence which is contrary to section 22(2) (b) 1 and punishable under section 22(2) (b) of cybercrimes (prohibition, prevention etc.) Acts 2015.

After they had pleaded guilty to the offence, the prosecution counsel, Oyelakin Oyediran reviewed the case and urged the court to do the judgement accordingly.

Justice Mohammed Abubakar ordered the convicts to refund the amount collected from their victims to them. Olawale was said to refund one thousand, five hundred ($1,500) united states dollars, Olatayo was said to refund five hundred dollars($500), Awoniyi shall refund hundred dollars ($100) and two hundred and thirty-two thousand naira and Ayomide shall refund four thousand United States dollars ($4000).

There is no way we can justify stealing. You have stolen anything that you fraudulently convert to your own use or to the use of any other person anything that is capable of being stolen. Stealing cannot bring you fame, it will only damage your good reputation in society. Don't indulge in fraudulent activities! There is dignity in labour!

What do you think about this?

Let's read your view in the comment section below.

Share this article with others to read. Sensitize them as well.

Follow this blog for more articles and real time updates.

Source: EFCC verified twitter page.

Content created and supplied by: Olalek (via Opera News )

Abeokuta Ibadan Matthew Anuoluwapo Awoniyi Olawale Ibrahim Damilare Samson Olawale


Load app to read more comments