Sign in
Download Opera News App





Premier League

Official: The Ballon d'Or will not be awarded in 2020

The Aregentina star and Barcelona best player Lionel claim six Ballon d'or meaning that he has the highest number of the award

The former Manchester United player and Portugal player of all time won the Ballon d'or in five times after competing with Leo for the past 11 years

football player award issued between 2010 and 2015. For the European football award given by France Football, see Ballon d'Or . For the previous FIFA award (1991–2009), see FIFA World Player of the Year. For the current FIFA award (since 2016), see The Best FIFA Men's Player


The FIFA Ballon d'Or ("Golden Ball") was an annual association football award presented to the world's best men's player from 2010 to 2015. Awarded jointly by FIFA and France Football, the prize was a merger of the FIFA World Player of the Year award and the

Ballon d'Or , the two most prestigious individual honours in world football. Unlike the Ballon d'Or awarded by France Football , the FIFA Ballon d'Or, was not awarded based on votes from international journalists, but votes from national team coaches and captains, who selected the players they deemed to have performed the best in the previous calendar year.

The Organizer of FIFA Ballon d'or stated that the award will not be presented in next years according to their tradition due to low performance from football activities following the breakdown of Corona Virus. 

The FIFA award is action since 1956 and this will be first year dat the award will not be presented. 

The Ballon d'or is said to return back by 2021.

Content created and supplied by: Yoffystarboisportnews (via Opera News )

Ballon d'Or FIFA FIFA World Player of the Year France Lionel


Load app to read more comments