Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




Premier League

BALLON D'OR NOMINATIONS: Why Eduoard Mendy might win the Yashin Trophy ahead of Ederson and Thibaut

Photo Credit: Twitter

Allison Becker is the first goalkeeper to win the Yashin trophy. This is because this award was introduced in 2019, when Liverpool won the UCL trophy.

This award is normally given to the goalkeeper with the best performance through out a season. Currently, 4 goalkeepers have been nominated for this award.

Photo Credit:Twitter

These goalkeepers are Eduoard Mendy, Thibaut Courtois, Gianluigi Donnarumma, Ederson Morales and Kasper Schmeichel.

Eduoard Mendy, Ederson and Thibaut Courtois were nominated because of the excellent performance they put in the last UCL competition.

Photo Credit: Twitter

The two other goalkeepers like Kasper Schmeichel and Gianluigi Donnarumma were nominated because of their brilliant performances in the past EURO 2020 competition. Donnarumma won the EURO trophy with Italy and was awarded the 'player of the tournament'.

Photo Credit: Twitter

However, Eduoard Mendy has the highest chances of winning this competition because he already have 3 honours. The honours are UCL trophy, Super Cup trophy and 'UEFA best goalkeepers' award. Judging with the current season, this goalkeeper has conceded only 4 goals this season.

He also kept cleansheets in almost all the games he featured for Senegal. This goalkeeper also have one of the best save ratio in the whole world currently.

Content created and supplied by: Swatman (via Opera News )

Allison Becker Eduoard Mendy Gianluigi Donnarumma Kasper Schmeichel Yashin Trophy


Load app to read more comments