Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




UEFA Champions League

2 Things That Could Help Jorginho Replicate Lampard's Ballon D'or Record In 2021 Award Ceremony.

Ballon D'or is the most prestigious individual award to honour players with outstanding performances in the game of football. It is an annual award ceremony organised by France football. Argentine International Lionel Messi and Portuguese ace Cristiano Ronaldo are the most successful players in the history of the award.

Paris Saint-Germain maestro Lionel Messi has won the award a record six times, while Manchester United forward Cristiano Ronaldo has won the award five times.

The 2020 award ceremony could not hold because of the global pandemic, as the 2021 award will feature the presentation of two award by France Football: the 2020 award winner and 2021 award winner which will be presented in Paris the French Capital in the Month of December 2021.

2 Things that could help Jorginho replicate Lampard's Ballon D'or record in 2021 award ceremony.

The Ballon D'or award started in 1956 as Blackpool Stanley Matthews won the inaugural award for his outstanding individual performances in the round leather game.

The likes of Cristiano Ronaldo, Micheal Owen, Denis Law, Bobby Charlton and George Best all won the Ballon D'or award with English teams.

Since the inaugural session of the award, no Chelsea player have ever received the award, the best from a Chelsea player was Frank Lampard who finished runner-up for both the Ballon D'or and FIFA World Player of the Year in 2005.

1. Jorginho could make history in Chelsea shirt, if he replicates Frank Lampard record in Ballon d'Or history.

Jorginho could make history to replicate Frank Lampard Ballon D'or record of runner up , if only he is consistent for the Blues and his outstanding individual performances could help him win the 2nd position in the award Ceremony at Paris in December this year.

2. The Italian won the UEFA Champions League title with Chelsea this year, he also won the Euro 2020 with Italy and UEFA Men's Player of the year award.

He could remain in contention if only he will improve his goal scoring ability this season with the Blues. The favourite players to win the award are Lionel Messi, Robert Lewandowski and Jorginho.

Content created and supplied by: Neanews (via Opera News )

Ballon D'or Cristiano Ronaldo France Jorginho Lionel Messi


Load app to read more comments