Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




La Liga

The Five Players With The Most Ballon d’Or Wins

It is official: Lionel Messi is in a world of his own.The Barcelona star topped the Ballon d'Or winners list after claiming claimed his sixth award in 2019, beating Liverpool defender Virgil van Dijk and long term rival Cristiano Ronaldo to scoop the accolade. If anyone had any doubts on whether Messi is the greatest player of all-time, that question has now been answered. Messi is the only player to win six Ballon d’Or awards and a seventh could be on the cards in 2021. But enough about the future, it is time to focus on the past and the most successful players in Ballon d’Or history. Here are the top five footballers when it comes to Ballon d’Or wins – you’d get good football betting odds on correctly naming all five players…

Marco van Basten

3 Ballon d'Or awards

The Dutchman is considered to be one of the best forwards in history. He dominated world football during the late 80s and early 90s. He won three Ballon d'Ors (1988, 1989 and 1992). 'The swan of Utrecht' also scored one of the best goals of Euro 1988 as the Netherlands defeated the USSR, yes, THAT goal.

Johan Cruyff

3 Ballon d'Or awards

Johan Cruyff was the first Dutch footballer to have won three Ballon d’Ors (1971, 1973 and 1974). He made the most of Ajax’s “total football” style to win the Ballon d’Or in 1971, 1973 and 1974. He scored 25 goals in the 1971/72 season to hand Ajax the Eredivisie with dominating performances throughout the season. His contribution to Ajax and Spain’s Barcelona cement Cruyff’s place as one of the most influential footballers of his time.

Michel Platini

3 Ballon d'Or awards

Michel Platini claimed three Ballon d’Or awards in a row from 1983 to 1985 (1983, 1984 and 1985).

Platini won the Ballon d’Or 3 years consecutively (1983,84 and 85), his best year, however, was undoubtedly 1984 when he guided France almost singlehandedly to their maiden Euro Championship title scoring an incredible 9 goals in just 5 games.

Cristiano Ronaldo

5 Ballon d'Or awards

Cristiano Ronaldo is a five-time Ballon d’Or winner (2008, 2013, 2014, 2016, 2017).

The juventus talisman still hold the record for the only player to win the award five times in five years. 

Lionel Messi

6 Ballon d'Or awards

Lionel Messi has so far won six Ballon d’Or awards (2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2015, 2019).

Widely hailed by many as the greatest player in the history of the sport, Lionel Messi has won a record six Ballon d'Or gongs and at 33, and likely he added to it to this year. An icon for Barcelona and Argentina, Messi continues to amaze on a daily basis and long may it continue.

Content created and supplied by: Sportlink (via Opera News )

Ballon Cristiano Lionel Messi Marco van Basten Virgil van Dijk


Load app to read more comments