Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




Premier League

Five High profile clubs who have never had a Ballon D'Or winner (2021)

Photo Credit: Getty Images

Some of the world's most prestigious football clubs have never had a player who was regarded as the greatest in the world during their time there.

The Ballon d'Or is a prize given by France Football, a French news magazine, to the greatest performing player of the year. It is the most coveted individual trophy in football and is usually regarded as the oldest.

The award was first presented to the finest European Footballer of the Year in its early years. However, in 1995, its scope was expanded to cover all European football players. In 2007, the award was expanded to include footballers from all around the world.

Multiple Ballon d'Or winners have come from some of Europe's most prestigious teams.

Naturally, the most successful teams have featured some of the best players in the game's history. Real Madrid players have won it 11 times, while Barcelona players have won it six times. Players from Juventus and AC Milan have each won eight times, while Bayern Munich has won five times and Manchester United has won four times.

However, numerous European powerhouses have yet to produce a Ballon d'Or winner. Today, we'll look at five of these well-known clubs.

Paris Saint-Germain is ranked fifth.

Photo Credit: Getty Images

Things might change for Paris Saint-Germain now that Lionel Messi has joined the team. Although the Argentina international is one of the favorites to win the Ballon d'Or this year, it is far from guaranteed.

Despite all of the high-profile players they've had in previous years, Paris Saint-Germain has never won the Ballon d'Or. George Weah was an outstanding player for Paris Saint-Germain, winning the Ballon d'Or in 1995.

He had left PSG in the summer of 1995, thus he wasn't a PSG player when he received the trophy.

Manchester City is ranked fourth.

Photo Credit: Getty Images

Before giving cash to Manchester City, the City Football group was just Manchester United's loud neighbors. They lacked the financial clout of the Red Devils and the type of power needed to lure the game's top names.

Manchester City has never had world-class talent until the David Silvas, Sergio Agueros, Yaya Toures, and Kevin De Bruynes. Given how City has turned into a juggernaut of sorts in recent years, the fact that they have had no Ballon d'Or winners might change soon.

In the history of the award, no Manchester City player has ever reached the final of the Ballon d'Or. However, the current Manchester City side contains world-class players, and their record in the Ballon d'Or competition might improve very soon.

Chelsea is ranked third.

Photo Credit: Getty Images

Chelsea is another another club from the early twenty-first century that has risen to prominence in European football. Not that they were a lesser club before then, but since the turn of the millennium, they have been recruiting some of the finest players in the world.

The Blues, who are backed by Roman Abramovich, have developed into one of Europe's most powerful teams. Right present, they are Europe's reigning champions. Chelsea, on the other hand, has never won the Ballon d'Or in its 116-year history.

Frank Lampard is the closest they've come. In the 2005 Ballon d'Or race, the English midfielder finished second. Lampard scored 19 goals and added 21 assists in 58 appearances for Chelsea in all competitions during the 2004-05 season.

That year, he also won the Premier League championship and the League Cup, but he was beaten to the Ballon d'Or by Ronaldinho.

Atletico Madrid is ranked second.

Photo Credit: Getty Images

Throughout the history of La Liga, Barcelona and Real Madrid have been the two most powerful forces. Atletico Madrid has made many attempts to break the duopoly, with varying degrees of success.

With 11 league titles, Atletico Madrid is the third most successful team in La Liga. In La Liga, they've also finished second ten times. In the history of the award, no Atletico Madrid player has ever won the Ballon d'Or.

In 1987, Paulo Jorge dos Santos Futre came close but finished second to Ruud Gullit. Antoine Griezmann has finished on the podium twice. In 2016 and 2018, the Frenchman finished third in the Ballon d'Or competition.

Arsenal No. 1

Photo Credit: Getty Images

Arsenal is one of Europe's most distinguished clubs. They are one among the so-called Premier League heavyweights, having won 13 English league crowns and 14 FA Cups. The Gunners were active at the close of the twentieth century and the beginning of the first decade of the twenty-first.

Over the years, they've had a number of world-class players on their payroll. However, none of them has ever been awarded the Ballon d'Or. Thierry Henry, on the other hand, came close twice. The Frenchman is arguably the greatest striker in Premier League history.

In 2003, he finished second in the Ballon d'Or race. There is a solid case to be made that Pavel Nedved, the 2003 Ballon d'Or winner, did not deserve to win it over Henry, who was outstanding that year. In 2006, Henry came close to winning the Ballon d'Or, but finished third behind Fabio Cannavaro and Gianluigi Buffon.

If you enjoyed this article, please like, share, and click the follow button.

Content created and supplied by: Fridiano (via Opera News )

Ballon d'Or Europe European France Football French


Load app to read more comments