Sign in
Download Opera News App





Premier League

5 Manchester United players that have won the golden boot

Manchester United is no doubt one of the biggest clubs in the world. But the premier league golden boot has always seemed to elude Manchester United strikers.

Since the introduction of the golden boot award in the 1992/93 season, Manchester United has won the golden boot only five times.

These are those 5 people.

1. Dwight Yorke, 1998/1999 season.

This Manchester United striker had to share his award with Michael Owen who played for Liverpool at the time, and Jimmy Floyd Hasselbank from Leeds.

The trio had 18 goals each.

Manchester United went on to win that season with the combination of Andrew Cole and Dwight Yorke tearing up defences in England.

2. Ruud Van Nistelrooy, 2002/03 season.

This Netherlands, Manchester United and Real Madrid legend was on fire In the 2002/03 season.

The striker scored 25 goals and was the only golden boot winner that season.

3. Cristiano Ronaldo 2007/2008.

Of course you expected to see him on this list. Manchester United premier league win in 2008 was solely thanks to the stellar effort of Cristiano Ronaldo and Wayne Rooney.

The Portuguese legend scored 31 goals for Manchester United as they went on to win the premier league and the Champions league.

4. Dimitar Berbatov, 2010/11.

Manchester United striker Dimitar Berbatov and Rooney was another great combination that tore down defences in the premier league.

The striker however had to share the golden boot with Carlos Teves of Manchester City.

The duo had 20 goals to their name.

5. Robin van Persie, 2012/13 season.

This striker also won the golden boot with arsenal the previous season. But his transfer to Manchester United proved that he was a world class striker as he also won the golden boot I'm the 2013 season and lifted the premier league throphy.

The ex Netherlands international scored 26 goals that season.

Content created and supplied by: Phrankhomey (via Opera News )

Andrew Cole Dwight Yorke England Manchester United Ruud Van Nistelrooy


Load app to read more comments