Sign in
Download Opera News App





La Liga

History of Real Madrid CF

Real Madrid, founded on March 6,1902, the Madrid football club is founded by a group of fans in Madrid, Spain. Later known as Real Madrid, the club would become the most successful European football (soccer) franchise of the 20th century.

In 1920, the club name was changed to Real Madrid after King Alfonso XIII granted the tittle of Real (Royal) to the club. In 1929, the first Spanish Football League was founded. Real Madrid lead the first League season until the lost match, a loss to Athletic Bilbao, meant they finished runners-up to Barcelona.

Real Madrid have won a record of 34 LA Liga and a record of 13 European Cup/EUFA Champions League trophies. They are also the first club to win three consecutive Champions League trophies since its 1992 inception by winning the 2016,2017 and 2018 editions.

Also the name of the Club Stadium is known as Santiago Bernabeu, it has a capacity of 81,044.

Some of Real Madrid prominent players are: Alfredo Di Stefano, Ronaldo Nazario, Santiago Bernabeu, David Beckham, Ricardo Zamora, Claude Makelele, Fernandez Morientes, Ignacia Zoco, Roberto Carlos, Zinedine Zidane, Raymond Kopa, Iker Cassillas, Cristiano Ronaldo.

Content created and supplied by: Chinedu09 (via Opera News )

Alfonso XIII Barcelona EUFA Champions League LA Liga Real Madrid


Load app to read more comments