Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




Premier League

James McArthur Was Lucky Not To Receive A Red After Hacking Bukayo Saka From Behind

It is no longer news that Arsenal managed to snatch a draw from the jaw of defeat during their last night encounter with Crystal Palace which ended 2-2 after Alexandre Lacazette last gasp 95th equalizer, however, one of the major points was the brutal tackle that Bukayo Saka got from James MacArthur at the 43rd minute.

It happens that the 32-year-old MacArthur viciously kicked Saka from behind in the right calf while he was trying to clear away a floating ball in the Arsenal's box. Many fans have continued to wonder why referee Mike Dean did not issue a red card instead of a yellow to the Palace midfielder despite witnessing the incident very close and ignoring the VAR replay.

From my own personal objective analysis of the incident, it looked as if MacArthur intentionally kicked Saka. From the video, MacArthur was actually looking straight at the leg of Saka instead of the ball before he brutally whacked the English winger from behind. Unfortunately, Saka was oblivious of the atrocity that was about to befall him as he was backing MacArthur.

There is no doubt that such a vicious kick deserves a red card not only because it looks intentional, but it ended up injuring the player as Saka could not continue the match. A Red card is a strict punitive measure in football that involves sending off an offending player from a game. MacArthur was definitely lucky not to have been sent off by the referee after what he did to Saka.

Content created and supplied by: Austinwords (via Opera News )

Arsenal James McArthur MacArthur Mike Dean Saka


Load app to read more comments