Sign in
Download Opera News App





UEFA Champions League

Check out all the four European treble-winning teams since 1992 and their squads

Seven (7) teams including PSV, Celtic and Ajax have won the European treble in football history.

However, since the European Cup was renamed the Champions League in 1992, only four (4) teams are treble-winners to date.

In this article, Jbstylez presents to the public the teams that have won the Continental or European treble since 1992.

Let's have a look below:

Ever since the European Cup was renamed the UEFA Champions League in 1992, just four (4) teams have won the European treble.

These clubs are Manchester United (1998/1999), Barcelona (2008/2009 and 2014/2015), Inter Milan (2009/2010) and Bayern Munich (2012/2013 and 2019/2020).

1. Manchester United (1998/1999):

Manchester United remain the only English team to ever win the European treble.

The Red Devils achieved this record in 1998/1998 where they won the Premier League, FA Cup and the UEFA Champions League.

Here's the United squad that made history in 1999:

2a. Barcelona (2008/2009):

Barcelona are one of the two teams to win the European treble more than once.

In 2009, under the leadership of Pep Guardiola, Barcelona won the sextuple (6 titles) that included a European treble.

The 2009 winning team is arguably the best squad in Barcelona's history.

Check out the team below:

2b. Barcelona (2014/2015):

Six (6) years later, Barcelona won another treble.

In total, they won 5 titles, losing only the Spanish Super Cup to Atletic Bilbao.

Here is the 2015 squad:

3. Inter Milan (2009/2010):

Under Jose Mourinho, Inter Milan won their first European treble. It is also the first treble won by an Italian team.

In all, they won four (4) titles in 2010 and they were easily the best team that year.

4a. Bayern Munich (2012/2013):

Bayern Munich are the second team to win the European treble more than once after Barcelona.

Bayern Munich 2013 squad won 5 titles with a continental treble.

Check out the team below:

4b. Bayern Munich (2019/2020):

Just last year, Bayern Munich took a step further by winning all six titles available in a calendar year.

Under Hansi Flick, Bayern were simply unstoppable in the UCL.

Bayern Munich put 7 goals past Chelsea in the group stage (two-legged tie), 8 goals past Barcelona (one-off tie) en route to the UCL final.

Bayern Munich, last year were scoring goals for fun and it remains to be seen if they can successfully defend their crown this season.

Check out the free-scoring, historical squad below:

There you have it!

The world has its eyes on Manchester City, due to their impressive form in the Premier League.

But does City have what it takes to win the European treble?

Share your thoughts with us and share with friends.

Content created and supplied by: Jbstylez (via Opera News )

Barcelona Champions League European Manchester United UEFA Champions League


Load app to read more comments