Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports





Qatar 2022: Rohr Overlooks NPFL Stars, Names 30 Players For Liberia, Cape Verde Games

Super Eagles' Technical Adviser, Gernot Rohr has left out players in the Nigeria Professional Football League from his list of 30 players to prosecute Qatar 2022 World Cup qualifying ties against Liberia and Cape Verde in September.

The Franco-German tactician has always maintained players in the domestic league are not good enough to feature in the Super Eagles. The former Gabon coach had in the past reluctantly included a couple of them, with Heartland goalkeeper, Ilechukwu Ezenwa, Enyimba's duo of John Noble and Anayo Iwuala, who recently joined Esperance of Tunisia getting a look-in.

This time around, he completely overlooked them and other players who excelled during the just concluded 2020-2021 Nigeria Professional Football League season as he named his team for the opening rounds of the World Cup qualifying campaign on Thursday.

Former junior international Kingsley Michael and Sweden- based Innocent Bonke are the only new names on the list of mainly regulars and a few returning players such as Hoffenheim defender, Kevin Akpoguma, South Africa-based goalkeeper Daniel Akpeyi, Kenneth Omeruo and Olympiakos forward, Henry Onyekuru. 

Nigeria will begin their quest for seventh World Cup ticket against Liberia on Friday, 3rd September at Teslim Balogun Stadium in Lagos and tackle Cape Verde in Mindelo on Tuesday, 7th September.


Goalkeepers: Francis Uzoho (APOEL Nicosia, Cyprus); Daniel Akpeyi (Kaizer Chiefs, South Africa); Maduka Okoye (Sparta Rotterdam, The Netherlands)

Defenders: Chidozie Awaziem (FC Boavista, Portugal); Kenneth Omeruo (CD Leganes, Spain); Leon Balogun (Glasgow Rangers, Scotland); William Ekong (Watford FC, England); Olaoluwa Aina (Torino FC, Italy); Jamilu Collins (SC Padeborn 07, Germany); Abdullahi Shehu (AC Omonia, Cyprus); Zaidu Sanusi (FC Porto, Portugal); Kevin Akpoguma (TSG Hoffenheim, Germany)

Midfielders: Oghenekaro Etebo (Watford FC, England); Wilfred Ndidi (Leicester City, England); Frank Onyeka (Brentford FC, England); Joseph Ayodele-Aribo (Galsgow Rangers, Scotland)

Forwards: Ahmed Musa (Fatih Karagumruk, Turkey); Alex Iwobi (Everton FC, England); Samuel Kalu (FC Bordeaux, France); Victor Osimhen (Napoli FC, Italy); Kelechi Iheanacho (Leicester City, England); Moses Simon (FC Nantes, France); Paul Onuachu (KRC Genk, Belgium)

SEVEN OTHERS: Terem Moffi (FC Lorient, France); Henry Onyekuru (Olympiacos FC, Greece); Chidera Ejuke (CSKA Moscow, Russia); Innocent Bonke (Malmo FF, Sweden); Valentine Ozornwafor (Sporting Charleroi, Belgium); Tyronne Ebuehi (Venezia FC, Italy); Kingsley Michael (Bologna FC, Italy)

Photo credit: Instagram.

Content created and supplied by: Godwins4me (via Opera News )

Anayo Iwuala Gernot Rohr John Noble Liberia Nigeria


Load app to read more comments