Sign in
Download Opera News App





La Liga

Ronaldo, Messi and Lewandowski will not win the Ballon d'Or this Year

One of the most prestigious football awards that is given to the best player of the year. The award which is also know as Golden Ball award, the award has been dominated by the likes of Messi and Ronaldo. The Ballon d'Or started in 2010 when it was merged with FIFA best player of the year with Messi winning the first award then. In the span of 20 Years, Messi has won 6 Ballon d'Or while Ronaldo has won just 5 Ballon d'Or, both claiming 11 of the awards out of 20, Lionel Messi is the current holder of the award.

Lionel Messi won the first Ballon d'Or award in 2010 (Image above)

For the first time in 20 Years, Since the evolutuon of Ballon d'Or it has never been cancelled for any reason but because of the current Corona Virus (Covid19) Pandemic, the award has been cancelled for 2020. Messi, Ronaldo and Lewandowski who seems to be the favourite will have to wait until next year. Messi is still the current holder of the award but 2020 will be voided.

Fans of football has flood social media on their views of FIFA canceling the Ballon d'Or. Some twitter users feels it was because of messi had a poor season and some felt Lewandowski was robbed.

As a football fan, what is your view on the Ballon d'Or been cancelled??

Don't forget to like and comment. Thank you

Content created and supplied by: Kinghuzz007 (via Opera News )

Ballon d'Or FIFA Lewandowski Messi Ronaldo


Load app to read more comments