Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




Premier League

Three Nigerian Players Who Won The African Footballer Of The Year Award

The African Footballer of the Year award is one of the most prestigious individual awards in African football. It was invented by the Confederation of African Football in 1992. The award is usually given to a particular African football player who has achieved a lot during one year. Nigeria has produced so many great football players over the past fifty years. Below are three Nigerian stars who have won the African Footballer of the Year award.

1. Nwankwo Kanu

Kanu won the African Footballer of the Year award in 1999. At this point he represented Arsenal in the English Premier League. Nwankwo Kanu also won the award in 1996. He finished ahead of the legendary George Weah in 1996. This means that Weah finished second in 1996.

2. Victor Ikpeba

He played for top clubs like AS Monaco and Borussia Dortmund during his professional football career. Victor Ikpeba won the African Footballer of the Year award in 1997. He is renowned for his pace on the field of play. He also made 31 appearances for the Super Eagles of Nigeria.

3. Emmanuel Amunike

He won the African Footballer of the Year in 1994. He played for the likes of Barcelona and Sporting Lisbon during his professional career. Emmanuel Amunike is said to be one of the greatest strikers in the history of Nigerian football.

Content created and supplied by: Deon_Decades (via Opera News )

African Footballer of the Year George Weah Nigeria Nwankwo Kanu Victor Ikpeba


Load app to read more comments