Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




FIFA World Cup

Why Do African Teams Have To Play Playoffs To Determine Their World Cup Spot

Amongst the seven continents, Oceania, and Africa are the only continents that don't have automatic qualifers ticket in the world cup.

Europe, North America, South America, Asia, all have teams that automatically qualify for the group stage of the world cup, if they are the first placed teams in their group.

Europe has 13 spots for the world cup, with each group winner automatically gaining qualification to the world cup, Asia has 5 spots for the world cup, with 4 automatic qualification to the group stage, and one team to come through the qualifiers, same with South America, while North America has 3 automatic qualifying spots, and one through the qualifiers stage.

Meanwhile, all group winners in Africa's group stages, have to all play in the qualifiers to determine the five teams that would progress, and represent Africa at the world cup.

I don't think that method is fitting, with every other continent having automatic qualifiers ticket, and Africa doesn't have one. A perfect idea would have being, the best three teams in the group stages gain automatic entrance to the world cup, while the rest teams battle out the remaining two slots.

Perhaps, it could be among the issues FIFA would rectify, once the number of qualifying teams in the world cup are expanded to accommodate more teams into the group stage of the world cup, it would be a good development if such was properly addressed.

Content created and supplied by: La_minna (via Opera News )

Africa Asia North America Oceania South America


Load app to read more comments