Sign in
Download Opera News App





FIFA World Cup

The List Of Fifa Ballon D'or Winners Since 1956

The Fifa Ballon D'or Award is presented to the most performed player of a calendar year. The award is jointly organized by France football and Fifa.

The award is recognised as the most honorary individual award for a football player every year.

For the first time since the 1956, the organisers has announced that there will be no award ceremony considering the major pause in football activities due to the Coronavirus pandemic.

Despite the postponement of the award ceremony, fans had speculated players like Robert Lewandowski and Lionel Messi as possible winners of the award this year.

Argentine International Lionel Messi is the highest holder of this award having won it six times.

Lionel Messi became the first player to win the award for the sixth time in 2019 after putting up an excellent performance that year.

Cristiano Ronaldo sits at second place with five Ballon D'or awards to his collection.

Other football Legends involving Cruyff, Platini and Van Basten have all won the award three times each.

Content created and supplied by: Justinnick (via Opera News )

Cristiano Ronaldo Fifa Ballon D'or Award France Lionel Messi Robert Lewandowski


Load app to read more comments