Sign in
Download Opera News App





La Liga

Football clubs that have won the Laliga trophy for the past 20 years

Spanish Laliga is one of the most watched league in the world, it consists of some of the biggest clubs in Europe i.e Barcelona, Real Madrid and Atletico Madrid.

Four football clubs have won the Laliga trophy in the past twenty years. Barcelona being the most dominant team amongs them; Barcelona (10), Real Madrid (7), Valencia (2) and Atletico Madrid (1).

List of Laliga champions for the past 20 years

1. Real Madrid 2000/2001

This was a beginning of a new era for Real Madrid as they had voted Florentino perez as their new president, perez didn't believed in the academy graduates so he started the Galactico's era.

Luis Figo was the first galactico bought by Perez from Barcelona which brought a lot of controversies between Barcelona and Real Madrid, as Luis Figo was tag a betrayer by Barcelona fan.

The team was managed by Vincente del Bosque and they won their 28th Laliga title that year.

2. Valencia 2001/2002

Valencia won their first Laliga title for the first time after 30 years, they were then managed by Rafael Benitez who won the Laliga trophy with only 75 points and a mere 51 goals scored for the entire season, they won 21 games, drew 12 and lost 5 games out of the 38 games they played that season.

3. Real Madrid 2002/2003

Real Madrid won their 29th Laliga title after winning Atletico Bilbao 3-1 in the final match day of the season, it was Real Madrid 72th league appearance in Laliga. However Real Madrid sacked their manager Vincente del Bolque immediately after winning the league which came as a shock to many. They won 22 games, drew 12 and lost 4 that season.

4. Valencia 2003/2004

This is Valencia's last Liliga title since the 2000s and the 2010s, they enjoyed a marvelous season by winning the Laliga and Uefa double, the team was managed by Rafael Benitez before he left to Liverpool the next season. They won 23 games, drew 8 and lost 7 that season.

5. Barcelona 2004/2005

This was Barcelona first Laliga title in the early 2000s, they had waited for six years before winning a trophy, the team was managed by Frank Rijkaard and had club legends like Ronaldinho, Puyul, Xavi, Eto who finished top goal scorer that season and others.

6. Barcelona 2005/2006

Barcelona retained their Laliga title for the second consecutive year, it was there 77th season in Laliga. They won the three trophies that season; Champions League, Laliga and Supercopa, it was Frank Rijkaad third season in Barcelona and Samuel Eto retain his golden boot as he scored 26 goals that season .

7. Real Madrid 2006/2007

In 38 League games played that season Real Madrid won 23 games, drew 7 and lost 8, it was Madrid 76th season in Laliga. Ramon Calderon who was Real Madrid manager then led Madrid to the title that season.

8. Real Madrid 2007/2008

Not much was changed from the squad that won the Laliga title the previous season, it was won by the same manager and the same team members.

9. Barcelona 2008/2009

This was the beginning of a new era of dominance for Barcelona as they won 8 Laliga titles in 12 years, Pep Guadiola was appointed as the new manager and he brought in graduate from the barca academy to form one of the greatest squad in football history. They won a record six trophies that season and Lionel Messi won his first Ballon di'or that year.

10. Barcelona 2009/2010

They won 2010 Laliga with 99 points total, as Lionel Messi was top scorer for the second consecutive year winning the pichichy award and the European golden shoe that season.

11. Barcelona 2010/2011

This was FC Barcelona third consecutive Laliga title in three years, the team was managed by Pep Guadiola as they won Champions League and Supercopa that season. Lionel Messi was the top scorer that season with 31 goals scored.

12. Real Madrid 2011/2012

This team was managed by Jose Mourinho "the special one" , they won their 32 Laliga title and made some records as they won the league with 100 point and scoring a record 121 goals that season. They won 32 games, drew 4 and lost twice that season.

13. Barcelona 2012/2013

Barcelona came back to their winning way as they won their 22th Laliga title with 100 points won, they were managed by the late Tito Valanova.

14. Atletico Madrid 2013/2014

If not for a mistake from the referee in 2014 denying Messi's goal against Atletico Barcelona would have won the league that year .But as faith had it Diego Simeone side won the Laliga title that year making it their 10th title in Spain.

15. Barcelona 2014/2015

Barcelona won their second treble this season as they won ; Laliga, Champions League, and Copa del Ray , Luis Enrique managed Barcelona that season and the formidable forward trio of Lionel Messi, Neymar and Luis Suares was form scoring a total of 122 goals that season.

16. Barcelona 2015/2016

They won four trophies that season; Laliga, Copa del Ray, Super cup and the world club cup. Luis Enrique was there manager that season before stepping down in 2017.

17. Real Madrid 2016/2017

The season was one of the most successful season in Real Madrid history, they won the champions league and the Laliga title a feat which haven't been done before. They were managed by the legendary Zinidine Zidane who also led them to three consecutive European Champions League.

18. Barcelona 2017/2018

Barcelona appointed Valverde after Luis Enrique step down, he won the Laliga and Copa del ray in his first season for Barcelona and lost only one Laliga game for the entire season.

19. Barcelona 2018/2019

Barcelona won only the Laliga trophy in 2019, they lost the final to Valencia in April 2019.

20. Real Madrid 2019/2020

Real Madrid won their 34th Laliga title with a 2-1 home win against villareal last night, benzema scored two goals taking his tally to 21 goals in Laliga this, only Lionel Messi has scored more (23).

I hope you enjoyed this article, you can also help by liking, commenting and sharing with your friends and family.

Content created and supplied by: Donald123 (via Opera News )

Barcelona Laliga Rafael Benitez Real Madrid Valencia


Load app to read more comments