Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




Meet the only football player that has won the Laureus Sports Award

The Laureus World Sports Award is a yearly award presented to the most outstanding individuals and teams across the world of sports.

This award honours the men and women in sports for their achievements in a calendar year.

The Laureus World Sports Award was established in 1999 with Tiger Woods being the first recipient of the award.

Popular Tennis player, Roger Federer, holds the record for the most award having won five (5) awards in the men's category, with four awards coming in quick succession from 2005 to 2008.

List of winners of the Laureus World Sports Awards for the men's category:

1. Tiger Woods (2000, 2001)

2. Michael Schumacher (2002)

3. Lance Armstrong (2003)

4. Michael Schumacher (2004)

5. Roger Federer (2005, 2006, 2007, 2008)

6. Usain Bolt (2009, 2010)

7. Rafael Nadal (2011)

8. Novak Djokovic (2012)

9. Usain Bolt (2013)

10. Sebastian Vettel (2014)

11. Novak Djokovic (2015, 2016)

12. Usain Bolt (2017)

13. Roger Federer (2018)

14. Novak Djokovic (2019)

15. Lionel Messi and Lewis Hamilton (2020)

16. Rafael Nadal (2021).

From the list above, it's evident that Lionel Messi is the first and only football player to pick up the Laureus World Sports Award.

The forward shared the honour with popular Formula 1 driver, Lewis Hamilton, having picked up the same number of votes.

Lionel Messi had an impressive year (2019) as he won a sixth Ballon d'Or award and a tenth La Liga title.

He also went on to win the Best Player Award in La Liga, the Pichichi award as well as the Golden Shoe award.

All these awards came in a single calendar year (2019).

Lionel Messi previously had five nominations for the Laureus World Sports Award in the past before he finally won the award at the sixth time of asking.

The Laureus World Sports Award is one of the most difficult awards for any football player to win since the award cut across every sporting event across the world.

Big-name players like Cristiano Ronaldo and Robert Lewandowski have never won the award.

While Ronaldo has earned 5 nominations in the past, Lewandowski has been nominated just once (2021).

There you have it.

Can Ronaldo or Lewandowski win this award before they retire from football?

Share your thoughts with us and share with friends.

Content created and supplied by: Jbstylez (via Opera News )

Lance Armstrong Laureus Sports Award Laureus World Sports Award Michael Schumacher Tiger Woods


Load app to read more comments