Sign in
Download Opera News App





Premier League

See the Five Players who are favourite to win the PFA player of the year award this season

The professional Footballers' Association Men's player of the year which is mostly called PFA men's player of the year award is an award given to the best and extra ordinary player in a season in English Premier League. Liverpool defender Virgil van Dijk is the current holder of the award.

Arsenal Legend Thierry Henry was the only player that won the award 2 times consecutively and also him and Cristiano Ronaldo are the only player to have won the award twice.

Has this season is about to closed here are the favourite players that can win the award this season.

1. Jordan Henderson, Liverpool.

The England international player is the most likely to win the award, he has been solid and steady this season, leading the Liverpool team to there first ever Premier League title since 30 years. The players show a good leadership character which is one of the factor that help the team to secure the league this season. If he win the awards this season it won't be a surprise.

2. Sadio Mané, Liverpool.

The African star who is the present holder of the African Footballer of the Year. Sadio Mane has show how important he his to the team since he arrived. The winger as scored 15 goals so far this season for Liverpool, his impact is also felt.

3. Kevin De Bruyne, Manchester City.

Liverpool players are not the only player that as done great impact this season. The Belgium star was one of the midfielder that as show what they can do. His ability to score goal and presently he is the highest player with the highest assist this season with just 2 more assist to reach the record of player with the highest assist in a season.

4. Virgil van Dijk, Liverpool.

The Liverpool defender is the present holder of the awards and will join the league of Henry and Ronaldo to have won the league twice, the defender has show how great he as help Liverpool to win the title this season helping them to concede only 15 goals so far this season.

5. Raheem Sterling, Manchester City.

The player won the young player category of the award last season. Sterling who as been on a great form again this season, having scored four hat-tricks so far this season.

There are other players won are still favorite the likes of Vardy.

Content created and supplied by: Obedionews (via Opera News )

Footballers' Association Liverpool PFA Thierry Henry Virgil van Dijk


Load app to read more comments