Sign in
Download Opera News App





La Liga

Real Madrid win LaLiga title! Latest news as Los Blancos dethrone Barcelona as Spanish champions

Real Madrid have won LaLiga for the 34th time in their history after beating Villarreal 2-1 on Thursday night.

Zinedine Zidane’s side needed only two points from their final two fixtures to seal the title from rivals Barcelona, but managed it at the first time of asking with their win at the Estadio Alfredo Di Stefano.

Having trailed Barca by two points prior to the coronavirus-enforced shutdown, Madrid have been in impeccable form since, winning 10 matches in a row to claim the title with one round of the competition remaining.

Zidane also led Real to the Spanish Supercopa title in January with a win over Atletico on penalties in Saudi Arabia and the 48-year-old has now won 11 trophies overall as Madrid coach.

Despite winning five Champions League crowns between 2014 and 2018, Madrid have found LaLiga more difficult in recent seasons and this title is only their third in the last 12 years, with Barca winning eight in that time.

Overall, Real lead Barca by 34 league titles to the Catalans’ 26.

Content created and supplied by: Naifad (via Opera News )

Barcelona LaLiga Los Blancos Real Madrid Zinedine Zidane


Load app to read more comments