Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




Premier League

8 Man United Players Whose Former Clubs Have Won More Trophies Since They Left To Join Man United

Manchester United last won a trophy in 2017 when they won the EFL Cup and the UEFA Europa League. United fans hope that the signing of Cristiano Ronaldo will help break that deadlock. Here are eight players who will be waiting for that day, after their old clubs have won titles:

1. Victor Lindelof

After starting his career at Benfica, Lindelof joined Man United in June 2017. He left Benfica with seven trophy medals but has not won any since then. Benfica has managed to win two since his transfer, including a league title and a cup win in 2019.

2. Nemanja Matic

Matic ended his second Chelsea spell when he joined United in July 2017. At Chelsea, he won two league titles and an FA Cup. After over four years at Old Trafford, he has not won any trophy. Chelsea has since then won four within that period.

3. Fred

Fred has divided opinion among fans since joining in 2018. The EPL is an upgrade to the UPL. But Fred won six trophies while at Shakhtar Donetsk. They have added another three since Fred left for Man United, while Fred has won none.

4. Diogo Dalot

Dalot won the league at Porto in 2018, playing only eight games. He joined United and has also featured sparingly for the club and spent last season on loan at AC Milan. Had he stayed at Porto, he would have three more trophy medals in his cabinet rather than one.

5. Harry Maguire

Maguire joined United for a record-breaking £80 million fee in 2019 and was named team captain after six months at the club. Maguire has still not won a top-flight trophy in his career, missing out on Leicester's most recent FA Cup and Community Shield win.

6. Bruno Fernandes

Bruno Fernandes has delivered beyond his £47 million transfer fee, with 70 goals and assists recorded in 86 games. His transfer to Manchester meant he couldn't add the three trophies Sporting CP won earlier this year to the three they won while he was at the club.

7. Donny Van de Beek

After winning three trophies with Ajax in five years, Van de Beek joined Man United last year. The Dutchman is presently unhappy at Old Trafford, as he features sparingly. There are no trophy wins to console either, but Ajax has won two this year already.

8. Edison Cavani

Cavani won 21 trophies during his seven-year stint at PSG. At United, he has ended his first season without a trophy medal in the past seven years. PSG only won the Coupe de France this year. Cavani would have preferred that than end empty-handed.

Drop your thoughts in the comments section below.

Content created and supplied by: OlayemiFooty (via Opera News )

Cristiano Ronaldo FA Cup Man United Manchester United Nemanja Matic


Load app to read more comments