Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




Premier League

Only 3 Defenders In The EPL Have Been Named EPL Player Of The Season

In every competition, there are individuals or teams that are exceptional or put up top notch performance throughout the period of the competition.

In football, players and teams are usually celebrated for their outstanding Performance, The English Premier League is no different.

Players, coaches and teams are celebrated in the EPL, weekly, monthly and at the end of the season.

The EPL gives out two awards at the end of the season to players, one of which is the Player of the Season award and the other is the Golden boot for the player with the most goals at the end of the season.

The EPL Player of the Season is an annual award presented to the most outstanding player in England for the season in consideration.

Since the commencement of the award, only three premier league defenders have won the award.

The first defender to win the award was Nemanja Vidic, the retired Serbian international footballer played for Manchester United from 2006 to 2014. Within the space of eight years in the premier league, the Serbian won the award twice, 2008/2009 and 2010/2011 seasons respectively.

The second player to attain this is height is the ex-Belgian International, Vincent Kompany. The former Manchester City player played in the EPL for several years, won the premier league severally and was named the player of the 2011/2012 Premier league season.

The third player is none other than the Liverpool player and captain, Virgil Van Dijk. He was named the English Premier League player of the 2018/2019 season.

Content created and supplied by: Gblizz (via Opera News )

EPL EPL Player of English Nemanja Vidic Premier League


Load app to read more comments