Sign in
Download Opera News App





La Liga

Breaking: Real Madrid won the league for a record 34th time after defeating Villarreal

Real Madrid defeated Villarreal on Thursday night to win their first La liga title in three years. 

Madrid won the league having just one game to spare. They are currently seven points above league rivals Barcelona who lost to Osasuna by two goals to one in the camp Nou. 

Karim Benzema single handedly gave Madrid the early title after scoring a brace. He scored the first goal in the 29th minute before firing the controversial second goal from a retaken penalty after Sergio Ramos took the first one. Villarreal managed to pull one back, but that is not enough to stop them from winning the title.

Real Madrid have won the title a record 34th time. They will have to wait till the final match before they can lift the cup.

They head into the final match with a whooping seven points lead over Barcelona.

Barcelona on the other hand will have to settle for second place.

Congratulations to the champions of La Liga for the 2019/2020 season.

If you love this article, don't hesitate to hit the follow button.

Kindly share your opinion on the comment section.

Content created and supplied by: Trip004 (via Opera News )

Barcelona La liga Osasuna Real Madrid Sergio


Load app to read more comments