Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




FIFA World Cup

The Full List Of Best FIFA Football Awards Winners

Lionel Messi and Cristiano Ronaldo have received the Best FIFA Men’s Player award twice.

On January 17, 2022, Robert Lewandowski won The Best FIFA Men’s Player for a second successive year. The Poland striker beat Mo Salah and PSG's Lionel Messi for the big honor on this occasion. Meanwhile, Barcelona Alexia Putellas followed her Ballon d’Or victory by winning The Best FIFA Women's Player award.

FIFA Best player award is a yearly award presented by football’s regulating body and the football award was started in 2016. The honor was previously known as the FIFA World Player of the Year and was incorporated with the Ballon d’Or. Since 2016 though, the two awards have been separated.

Different from the Ballon d’Or, fans are given a substantial right in deciding the Best FIFA football award awardees. The outcomes are decided through votes from the following categories: the current national team coaches, the current captain of every national team, one specialist journalist from each territory, and fans registered on

Each group has a 25 percent right on the result.

Portuguese legend, Cristiano Ronaldo was the first-ever winner of the Best FIFA Men’s Player award while Carli Lloyd of the USA won the Best FIFA Women’s player award in 2016. 

Apart from that, goalkeepers also earn a special mention in the design of The Best FIFA Goalkeeper award. The Best FIFA Goalkeeper award started in 2017 in the men’s group, while the first Best FIFA Women's Goalkeeper award started in 2019.

The other category is The Best FIFA Football Coach. In 2016, Claudio Ranieri was awarded The Best FIFA Football Coach of the year, the former Leicester City manager became the first-ever recipient, while the former Chelsea manager Thomas Tuchel won the football award for 2021.

Apart from the individual awards, the organizers of the award also launch a FIFA FIFPRO Men’s World 11 in both women's and men’s categories.

The record for most FIFA Best Player award winners is credited to Lionel Messi, Cristiano Ronaldo, and Barcelona's Robert Lewandowski.

Content created and supplied by: Reignss (via Opera News )

Best FIFA Men FIFA FIFA World Player of the Year Lionel Messi Poland


Load app to read more comments