Sign in
Download Opera News App





La Liga

First time Ballon d'Or wont be given to any player since 1956

Ever since the innovation of the prestigious award, it has not ease in awarding players who are outstanding in the field of play

Starting from the year 1956 the award has been given to notable football legends like Stanley Matthew( England , Blackpool) being the first winner and some other legends was able to acquire the award multiple times for themselves e.g Alfred di Stefano (Spain real madrid) Johan Cryuff (1971,1973,1974)Franz Beckenbauer, Kevin Keegan,Karl Heinze Rummenigge, Marco van Basten, Ronaldo de Lima, Ronaldinho, Fabian Cannavaro being the only defender to win the award .

But for the past decade Lionel Messi ( Argentina, Barcelona) and Cristiano Rinaldo(Portugal) has dominated the stage for the award wining the award Eleven time for the duo with Messi winning the most (six)and Rinaldo (five)

But in 2018 Luka modric broke the rope by taking home the award after a fine season with Real Madrid and helping Croatia finish second in the World cup

The year 2020 seem like the award wont be given to any player as there was no player rating due to the long-term break in football to ease the fear of Corona virus.

Is there a player worthy of the award or do you think UEFA made the right decision.

Drop your comments, hit the like button and don't forget to follow

Content created and supplied by: Stanley996 (via Opera News )

Argentina Ballon d'Or Cristiano Rinaldo( Fabian Cannavaro Karl Heinze Rummenigge


Load app to read more comments