Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




La Liga

BALLON D'OR 30-MAN LIST: Why Antonio Rudiger did not make the list but Simon Kjaer did

Photo Credit:Twitter

The 30 players who were nominated for Ballon d'or award has been revealed. Chelsea and Mancity players dominated the list because they both played the UCL final last season. The Ballon d'or will also be judged with the performances of players in the EURO 2020 and COPA AMERICA competitions, this is because these competitions took place last season.

Photo Credit: Twitter

Only 5 defenders got a spot in the list and Antonio Rudiger was not one of them. These defenders are Simon Kjaer, Ruben Dias, Leandro Bonucci, Giorgio Chiellini and Cesar Azplicueta.

Ruben Dias was the best EPL defender last season, he also played the UCL final but lost, he really deserved the spot. Italian defenders like Chiellini and Bonucci won the EURO trophy, they also performed very well in the competition.

Cesar Azplicueta performed well in all competitions, he won the UCL trophy and also helped Spain in reaching a greater height in EURO competition.

Simon Kjaer was very sensational for Denmark, he is the defender who consoled Erikson's wife when the midfielder collapsed.

Photo Credit: Twitter

However, Antonio Rudiger was also one of the best Chelsea defenders last season. He performed so well in tthe UCL competition, Chelsea was able to win Atletico Madrid and Porto because of Rudiger.

Rudiger also made an incredible save in the UCL final, he slided off the ball from Foden's legs.

Photo Credit: Twitter

However, why was Simon Kjaer chosen ahead of him?

Photo Credit: Twitter

Denmark went so far in the EURO 2020 competition because of their defence. Andreas Christensen and Simon Kjaer were the main players, they solidified the defence till the team crashed out of the competition.

Photo Credit: Getty images

In that same EURO competition, Antonio Rudiger was among the worst performed players. He did not play so well in the competition, he also made a lot of errors and that costed him the Ballon d'or spot.

Photo Credit: Getty images

Photo Credit: Getty images

Content created and supplied by: Swatman (via Opera News )

Antonio Rudiger Cesar Azplicueta Giorgio Chiellini Leandro Bonucci Simon Kjaer


Load app to read more comments