Sign in
Download Opera News App



COVID-19! Congrats to Dennis and Okereke as Club Brugge is crowned Champions

Two Nigerian players David Okereke and Dennis Emmanuel have won the title in Belgium with Club Brugge crowned the Jupiler league champions.

With the Belgian First Division, A suspended for the past three weeks due to the coronavirus pandemic, the Pro League board have brought the 2019/20 season to an end. 

Brugge had a runaway 15 point lead at the top of the standings with one round of matches left to play before the start of the post-season playoffs, involving the top six clubs.


They were runners-up last season to Racing Genk, who were seventh when the league was suspended last month in the wake of the coronavirus outbreak.


The decision by the Pro League board must be ratified at a meeting of the 24 clubs in the top two divisions but 17 of them had already last week called for the season to be canceled.


Season tickets are set to be redistributed as they look forward to scheduling fixtures and plans for the 2020/21 campaign while outcomes of the Belgian Cup final and relegation and promotion will be finalized in due course.


Okereke has now won his first-ever Club honour while Emmanuel is crowned champion for the second time after winning his first with Club Brugge in 2018.

Credits: Brila

Content created and supplied by: LeoBlogs (via Opera News )

Belgian First Division Club Brugge David Okereke Dennis Dennis Emmanuel


Load app to read more comments