Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




FIFA World Cup

Checkout The Naira Equivalent Of The Money Paid To The Super Eagles In The 2014 And 2018 World Cup.

The FIFA World Cup is an international football competition that is played by national teams who are members of FIFA. The World Cup is held every four years. Within the four-year period, national teams would play a qualification phase for three years to determine the 32 countries that would qualify for the tournament phase.

The World Cup began in 1930. It has been hosted by various countries. Only eight countries have won the world cup, with Brazil holding the record for the highest number of world cup titles. Brazil has won the World Cup five times. They are also the only team to have participated in all the World Cups.

Argentina (2), England (1), Spain (1), Germany (4), Italy (4), France (2), and Uruguay (2) are the other teams to have won the World Cup. The World Cup is also the competition with the highest number of viewers. FIFA generates a lot of income from the World Cup. It divides the massive sum of money among the 32 countries that competed in the tournament.

The amount of money distributed to various national teams every year depends on the revenue generated by FIFA. The total revenue generated by FIFA has increased continuously for each competition held. As the revenue generated increases, the money given to the national teams also increases.

The 2014 FIFA World Cup was held in Brazil. FIFA decided to distribute 400 million dollars to the 32 teams that participated in the tournament. Every team in the tournament is sure of receiving payment from FIFA. However, the amount of money would be reduced from the winners to the teams who didn't qualify from the group stage.

Germany won the 2014 World Cup and were given the sum of 35 million dollars. Argentina, who came in second, were rewarded with 25 million dollars. The third position received 22 million dollars, while the fourth position received 20 million dollars.

The quarterfinalists received 16 million dollars, the round of 16 losers received 9 million dollars each, while the teams who didn't qualify from the group stage received 8 million dollars.In the 2014 World Cup, the Super Eagles of Nigeria were eliminated by France in the round of 16. The Super Eagles were awarded $9 million.The 9 million dollars received by the super eagles is worth over 3 billion naira.

In the 2018 World Cup, the winners, France, received 38 million dollars, second place, Croatia, received 28 million dollars, the third position received 24 million dollars, the fourth position received 22 million dollars, the quarterfinalists received 16 million dollars, the losers of the round of 16 received 12 million dollars, and the national teams who didn't qualify from the group stage received 8 million dollars.

The super eagles of Nigeria were eliminated in the group stage. They received 8 million dollars, which is worth over 3 billion naira.

What is your opinion on this? Drop comments below. Please don't forget to like, follow and share.

Content created and supplied by: Tegajames (via Opera News )

Argentina Brazil FIFA World Cup World World Cup


Load app to read more comments