Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




Serie A

5 Players Who Have Won Three Or More Ballon d'Or Awards In Football History

The Ballon d'Or is one of the most coveted award in world football.

It usually bestows upon the recipient the honor of being regarded as the best player in the world.

It has been awarded since 1956, although between 2010 and 2015, an agreement was made with FIFA, and the award was temporarily merged with the FIFA World Player of the Year (founded in 1991) and known as the FIFA Ballon d'Or. However, the partnership ended in 2016, and the award reverted to the Ballon d'Or, while FIFA also reverted to its own separate annual award The Best FIFA Men's Player.

Over the years, we have seen players walk away with the Ballon d'Or, the likes of Ricardo Kaka, Ronaldinho, Luka Modric have won it once, but others have shown consistency by winning it on three or more occasions.

In light of the above, check out 5 players who have won three or more Ballon d'Or Awards;

5-Michel Platini (3)

Michel Platini is a former French footballer who played as an attacking midfieder for Juventus.

Regarded as one of the greatest footballers of all time, Platini won the Ballon d'Or three times, in 1983, 1984 and 1985.

4-Johan Cruyff (3)

During his time, the Dutchman was one of the most profilic players in the world. His profilicity saw him walk away with three Ballon d'Or Awards in 1971, 1973 and 1974.

3- Marco Van Basten (3)

Van Basten is a Dutch football manager and former professional player, who played for Ajax and A.C. Milan, as well as the Netherlands national team, as a striker. He is regarded as one of the greatest players in the history of the sport. He scored 300 goals in a high-profile career, but played his last match in 1993 at age 28 due to an injury which forced his retirement two years later. He won three Ballon d'Or Awards in 1988, 1989 and 1992.

2- Cristiano Ronaldo (5)

One of the best players in the world, the Portugese International is quick, powerful, good with the head and can score with both feet.

His brilliance over the years has seen him walk away with five Ballon d'Or awards in 2008, 2013,2014,2016 and 2017.

1-Lionel Messi (6)

Argentine International has the most Ballon d'Or Awards.

Between 2009-2012, Messi took home all the Ballon d'Ors. He won it again in 2015 and 2019. He's truly special.

Messi and Ronaldo have proven themselves to be a cut above the rest with 6 and 5 Ballon d'Ors respectively. However, credit goes to the other three players who have also been able to walk away with the Ballon d'Or 3 times.

Content created and supplied by: Quotient (via Opera News )

Ballon d'Or FIFA World Player of the Luka Modric Ricardo Kaka Ronaldinho


Load app to read more comments