Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




La Liga

Comparing the Barcelona Squad that won a Sextuple in 2009 with the Squad that won a treble in 2015

Before the commencement of the 2008/09 Season, a great paradigm shift took place at Barcelona. Right from the Managerial role to the Players, the club heralded in a new era. During the summer transfer window of that season, the club sold Ronaldinho and Deco.

This was followed by the Signing of Thierry Henry from Arsenal, Gerard Pique from Manchester United and the promotion of Sergio Busquets from the La Masia to the club's first team. Barcelona also made an unreal decision with the appointment of club's legend and former Captain Pep Guardiola as the Manager of the club.

At the time of his appointment, Pep Guardiola haven't managed any top club in his career as the only managerial experience he had gathered was from managing Barcelona's B team.

It turns out the decision to appoint Pep Guardiola as the Manager of the club at that time was one of the greatest decisions ever made by the Management of the Spanish giant.

Barcelona set a record in the history of club football that Season. Barcelona competed in the Copa Del Rey, UEFA Champions League and the Spanish La Liga that Season. The Blaugrana cleared out all titles in what was the First treble in the history of club Football.

It wasn't just that Barcelona had won their First treble, they have also won the first treble in history of club Football. That year, the club went further to win the FIFA Club World Cup, UEFA Super Cup and the Spanish Super Cup.

It was a memorable year for Barcelona as they won an historical treble that was followed by an historical Sextuple in the history of club Football.

Victor Valdez was the regular Goalkeeper of the club during that campaign as he made 35 league appearances. Carles Puyol, Gerard Pique, Dani Alves and Eric Abidal were the Defenders. Xavi Hernandez, Andre Iniesta and Yaya Toure were the Midfielders. Thierry Henry, Lionel Messi and Samuel Eto'o were the Forwards.

Barcelona Fans thought they had seen the best Football until Luis Enrique assembled Spanish and Europe's greatest attacking trio in the 2014/15 Season. Like Pep Guardiola, the Season was also Luis Enrique's first season at Barcelona Manager.

Barcelona's success during the 2014/15 Season was mainly because of the Attacking trio of Luis Suarez, Neymar Jr and Lionel Messi. The three Players scored a combine 122 Goals for the club across all competitions during the campaign. Barcelona signed Marc Andre Ter Stergen, Luis Suarez, Ivan Rakitic, Claudio Bravo and Raphinha at the beginning of that campaign.

With Luis Suarez, Neymar Jr and Lionel Messi leading Barcelona's attack, the club won another treble after winning the Spanish La Liga, Copa Del Rey and the UEFA Champions League Trophies.

Luis Enrique created a balance between the two Goalkeepers he signed that season. Claudio Bravo would play league Matches while Marc Andre Ter Stergen will play the Champions League Matches.

Barcelona had a stable Defense as Jordi Alba, Gerard Pique, Dani Alves and Dani Alves were the Defenders. At the Midfield, they had Ivan Rakitic, Sergio Busquets and Xavi Hernandez.

Please follow for more updates.

Content created and supplied by: AminullahiMuritala (via Opera News )

Barcelona Gerard Pique Manchester United Pep Guardiola Sergio Busquets


Load app to read more comments