Sign in
Download Opera News App





UEFA Champions League

List of UEFA Champions league winners.

The UEFA Champions League is a cempetition established in 1955. The UEFA Champions League is open to the league champions of all UEFA (union of European Football Association) associations as well as to the clubs finishing from second to fourth positions in the strongest leagues. Prior to the 1992-93 season, the tournament was named European cup. Originally only the champions of their respective national leagues and the defending champions of the competition were allowed to participate. However, this changed in 1997, to allow the runners-up of the stronger leagues to compete as well. The defending champion of the competition did not automatically qualify until the rules were changed in 2005 to allow holders, Liverpool join the competition.

Prior to 2009, if a team won the UEFA Champions League title three times in a row, or five times overall, they were allowed to keep the Europeans Champions clubs' and a new one was commissioned. Five teams earned this privilege Real Madrid, Ajax, Bayern Munich, Milan and Liverpool. However, since 2009 the original trophy which is presented to the winners on their victory is retained by UEFA, with a full-size replica produced for that season's champions.

A total of 22 clubs have won the trophy, Real madrid holds the record of most victories, having won the competition ten times.

Juventus team has been runners-up most times, losing six finals.

Real Madrid 13x

Ac Milian 7x

Liverpool 6x

Barcelona 5x

Bayern Munich 5x

Ajax 4x

Inter 3x

Manchester united 3x

Benfical 2x

Nothingham forest 2x

Porto 2x

Juventus 2x

Chelsea 1x

Celtic 1x

Aston villa 1x

Hamburg 1x

Steaua Brucharest 1x

PSV Eindhoven 1x

Red Star Belgrade 1x

Marseille 1x

Borussia Dortmund 1x

Feyenord 1x

Content created and supplied by: Peter.T (via Opera News )

Ajax Bayern Munich European Football Association Liverpool Real Madrid


Load app to read more comments