Sign in
Download Opera News App





La Liga

Sad news for, Messi, Ronaldo, Lewandowski and their fans as Ballon D'or won't be awarded this year.

Balloon d'or has being the most prestigious award in football over the years and it's an award that hasn't been missed since it's inception.

Many players have won the award for their good performances and every of their leagues, with rating based on work rate, team contributions, assists and goals.

Two of the top players who have won the award more than any other, is Lionel Messi(6 times winner) and Cristiano Ronaldo(5 times).

However, it'll be a sad news for these players who have performed beyond expectations in their various league. Cristiano Ronaldo has scored 28 goals in 29 matches, Lionel messi with 25 goals in 33 matches and lewandowski has 64 goals in year 2020 in all competition.

Follow me for more updates on sports,celebrities, BBnaija and the world.

Lewandowski has being tipped for the winner of the award this year, but every hope of him and other contenders have come to null, as the award won't be given this year.

The organizers have made it known that the reason they decided to not give this year's award is that, the criterion for presenting the award hasn't being met and in view of this all plan to present it in 2020 is off!.

"As the organiser of the Ballon d'Or, the Group L'Equipe, to which France Football belongs, decided not to award the most prestigious individual trophy there is in 2020," a statement said.

Pascal Ferré, editor-in-chief of France Football, added: "For the first time since 1956, the Ballon d'Or will take a break.

"There will be no edition in 2020, because it turns out, after thoughtful consideration, that all the conditions are not met.

"We believe that such a singular year cannot - and should not - be treated as an ordinary one. world.

"Finally, the equity that prevails for this honorary title will not be warranted, especially when it comes to accounting and preparation," Ferré said.

"All the award seekers will not be in the same boat, some having seen their season cut short. Therefore, how can we establish a fair comparison? To avoid overly convoluted calculations and projections, we chose the least bad of the options."

How sad this will be for players individually and a sort of heartbreaking news for them. The award will resume back in 2021 and that'll be another reason for battle of play amongst star players next season.

Content created and supplied by: Coded$$ (via Opera News )

Ballon D'or Cristiano Ronaldo Lewandowski Lionel Messi( Messi


Load app to read more comments