Sign in
Download Opera News App





Europa League

Check out some quick facts about UEFA EUROPA league

Check out some quick facts about UEFA EUROPA league

The Europa league is a competition between football clubs in Europe's football association (UEFA). Europa league comes up every year. European clubs that qualify in their respective national competitions come together and compete in the Europa league. Europa league is the second highest competition in Europe after the champions league.

The Europa league has been held since 1971 and it continues to hold each year. The Europa league tithe has been won by 28 clubs. Out of the 28, 13 clubs have won the title more than once. Sevilla has the highest titles. It has 5 titles. Chelsea is the current holder of the Europa league title. The won the title in 2019 after winning Arsenal 4-1.

In this post, I'll bring you brief facts about the Europa league.

I'll start with the stadiums. There are 32 stadiums used for matches in the Europa league. The following are the stadiums and the clubs that own them:

1. AFAS Stadion - Owned by AZ Alkmaar and opened in 2006

2. Arena CSK - Owned by PFC CSKA Moscow and opened in 2016

3. Baku International Stadium - Owned by Azerbaijan and opened in 2015

4. Bay Arena - Owned by Bayer Luverkusen and opened in 1958

5. Borussia-Park - Owned by Borussia Mönchengladbach and opened in 2004

6. Celtic - Owned by and opened in 1892

7. De Kuip - Owned by Feyenoord and opened in 1937

8. Estádio do Dragão - Owned by FC Porto and opened in 2003

9. Georgios Karaiskakis - Owned by Olympiacos and opened in 2004

10. Ghelamco Arena - Owned by KAA Gent and opened in 1899

11. Ibrox Stadium- Owned by Rangers and opened in 2013

12. Jan Breydel Stadium - Owned by Club Brugge KV and opened in 1975

13. Johan Cruyff Arena - Owned by AFC Ajax and opened in 1996

14. Ludogorets Arena - Owned by PFC Ludogorets and opened in 2011

15. Metalist Stadium - Owned by Shakhtar Donetsk and opened in 1926

16. Molineux - Owned by Wolverhampton Wanderers and opened in 1889

17. NSC Olimpiyskiy - Owned by Dynamo Kjivand opened in 1923

18. Old Trafford - Owned by Manchester United FCand opened in 1910

19. Parken Stadium - Owned by FC Copenhagen and opened in 1992

20. Philips Stadion - Owned by PSV Eindhoven and opened in 1910

21. Ramón Sánchez Pizjuán - Owned by Sevila and it was opened in 1958

22. RCDE Stadium - Owned by Espanyol and opened in 2009

23. Red Bull Arena (Salzburg) - Owned by FC Red Bull Salzburg and opened in 2003

24. RheinEnergie Stadion - Owned by FC Cologne and opened in 1923

25. San Siro - Owned by AC Millan and Inter Millan and opened in 1926

26. Saint Jakob-Park - Owned by FC Basel and opened in 2003

27. Stade Geoffroy-Guichard - Owned by AS Saint-Étienne and opened in 1931

28. Stadio Olimpico - Owned by AS Roma and opened in 1937

29. Stadion Energa Gdańsk - Owned by Lechia Gdańsk and opened in 2011

30. The Emirates - Owned by Arsenal FC and opened in 2006

31. Veltins-Arena - Owned by FC Schalke and opened in 2001

32. Vodafone Arena - Owned by Beşiktaş J.K. and opened in 2016

Moving on.. Just like in UEFA Champions League, the cash prizes received by the clubs is divided into fixed payments and variable payments The fixed payment is based on each club's participation and results. The variable payment depends on how UEFA is patronized by the media. Here are the prizes for each stage as of 2019/20 season:

- The clubs that win the preliminary round: €220,000

- The clubs that win the firrst qualifying round: €240,000

-The Clubs that win the second qualifying round: €260,000

- The clubs that win the third qualifying round: €280,000

- Clubs that win the play-off round elimination: €300,000

- Clubs that reach the Group matches: €570,000

- Clubs that draw in the Group matches: €190,000

- Clubs that win in the Group matches (1st position): €1,000,000

- 2nd position in Group Matches : €500,000

- The 16 teams that lose in the rounds of 32: €500,000

- The 8 teams that lose in the rounds of 16: €1,100,000

- Teams that reach the quarter-finals: €1,500,000

- Teams that reach the semi-finals: €2,400,000

- The team that loses in the Finals: €4,500,000

- The Winners: €8,500,000

The Group stage base fee is €2,920,000

Here are some quick stats and facts:

*The 1st tournament - 1955, and it was played as Inter-Cities Fairs Cup

*The tournament changed to UEFA cup in 1971/72 season

*in 2009/10 season, the tournament changed to Europa league

*The highest attendance - 110,000 in 1973 at Santiago-Bernabeu stadium

*189 teams qualify and 48 teams get to the finals

*Club with consecutive appearance - Club Brugge (for 20 seasons)

*Club with the highest Europa league titles - Sevilla (5 titles)

*Club with consecutive wins - Athletico Madrid (15 wins)

*Biggest wins in one game - 14-0, Ajax vs Red boys Differdange (1984/85)

*Highest scorer - Henrik Larsson (40 goals)

*Most goals in a season - Radamel Falco (17 goals)

*Highest Appearance - Gluseppe Bergomi (96 appearances)

*The following are the teams that have won two or more titles:

- Sevilla - 5 titles

- Juventus - 3 titles

- Inter Millan - 3 titles

- Liverpool - 3 titles

- Athletico Madrid - 3 titles

- Borussia Mönchengladbach - 2 titles

- Tottenham - 2 titles

- Feyenoord - 2 titles

- Göteborg - 2 titles

- Real Madrid - 2 titles

- Parma - 2 titles

- Porto - 2 titles

So... Thanks very much for going through. Those are some quick facts. Hope you gained something. Feel free to like, share and comment on this post. I'll really appreciate it.

Content created and supplied by: Josephlase (via Opera News )

AZ Alkmaar Chelsea Europa Sevilla UEFA


Load app to read more comments