Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




Europa League

All Past Winners Of The UEFA Europa League.

The UEFA Europa League, UEL, is the second-tier competition of European club football that is played seasonally like the UEFA Champions League. It ranks higher than the new third-tier Europa Conference League which is starting this season for the first time. The Competition is organised by the Union of European Football Associations (UEFA) and is eligible for all European football clubs depending on the positions they finished in their respective national leagues, as well as their performance in their Cup competitions, to guarantee automatic qualification or a qualifying round to gain entrance to the group stage. For instance, A Football club that finished 5th and 6th in the Premier League or won the FA Cup, have automatic qualification for the group stage of the UEFA Europa League, while the Premier League Club that finished 7th in the EPL log will play in the inaurgural Europa Conference league if they qualifies after a two-legged qualification match.

Europa League was first founded as UEFA Cup in 1971 after replacing inter-cities Fairs Cup. After the UEFA Cup Winner's Cup was abandoned in 1999 and Merged with UEFA Cup, group stages matches was added to the UEFA Cup as an expanded competitions. It continued until in 2009, when it was rebranded to UEFA Europa League, with UEFA Intertoto Cup merged to it, and it became the second-tier UEFA competition after UEFA Champions League.

Since the history of the competition 50-years ago, the Europa League title has been won by twenty-nine(29) Football clubs, thirteen(13) of which have won it more than once. Spain have produced the highest number of winners (13-times), and are followed by England and Italy, who have produced nine(9) titles each. The most successful club in the competition is La Liga side, Sevilla on six(6) occasions, While Tottenham Hotspur is the Football Club to win it's inaurgural edition in the 1971/1972 season.

As the 2021/2022 UEFA Europa League season kicks off on the 16th September, 2021, this article is about identifying all the past winners of the UEFA Europa League winners along with the seasons they won it.

1971/1972: Tottenham Hotspur(England) defeated Wolverhampton Wanderers 3-2 overall aggregate.

1972/1973: Liverpool FC(England) won 3-2 overall aggregate against Borrusia monchengladbach(Germany).

1973/1974: Feyenoord(Netherlands) won Tottenham by 4-2 overall aggregate.

1974/1975: Borussia Mönchengladbach(Germany) defeated Twente(Netherlands) by 5-1 overall aggregate.

1975/1976: Liverpool FC(England) won Club Brugge by 4-3 overall aggregate.

1976/1977: Juventus (Italy) defeated Athletic Bilbao with away goal count after 2-2 overall aggregate.

1977/1978: PSV(Netherlands) won 3-0 overall aggregate against Bastia(France).

1978/1979: Borussia Mönchengladbach (Germany) won Red Star Belgrade( Yugoslavia) by 2-1 overall aggregate.

1979/1980: Eintracht Frankfurt (Germany) defeated fellow German Club Borussia Monchengladbach on away goal count after 3-3 overall aggregate.

1980/1981: Ipswich Town(England) won AZ(Netherlands) by 5-4 overall aggregate.

1981/1982: IFK Göteborg ( Sweden) defeated Hamburger SV(Germany) by 4-0 overall aggregate.

1982/1983: Anderlecht(Belgium) won Benfica(Portugal) by 2-1 overall aggregate.

1983/1984: Tottenham(England) defeated Anderlecht(Belgium) on penalties after a 1-1 overall aggregate.

1984/1985: Real Madrid(Spain) won Videoton(Hungary) by 3-1 overall aggregate.

1985/1986: Real Madrid(Spain) completed the first back-to-back victories in the Competition by Winning FC Coln(Germany) by 5-3 overall aggregate.

1986/1987: IFK Göteborg ( Sweden) defeated Dundee United(Scotland) by 2-1 overall aggregate.

1987/1988: Bayer Leverkusen (Germany) defeated Espanyol(Spain) on penalties after a 3-3 overall aggregate.

1988/1989: Napoli (Italy) defeated Vfb Stuggart (Germany) by 5-4 overall aggregate.

1989/1990: Juventus (Italy) defeated fellow Serie A side, Fiorentina by 3-1 overall aggregate.

1990/1991: Inter Milan (Italy) defeated fellow Serie A side, AS Roma by 2-1 overall aggregate.

1991/1992: Ajax(Netherlands) defeated Torino(Italy) on away goal count after a 2-2 overall aggregate.

1992/1993: Juventus(Italy) defeated Borussia Dortmund(Germany) by 6-1 overall aggregate.

1993/1994: Inter Milan(Italy) defeated Austria Salzburg(Austria) by 2-0 overall aggregate.

1994/1995: Parma (Italy) defeated Juventus by 2-1 overall aggregate.

1995/1996: Bayern Munich(Germany) defeated Bordeaux(France) by 5-1 overall aggregate.

1996/1997: Schalke 04 (Germany) defeated Inter Milan on penalties after 1-1 overall aggregate.

The Single Format Final Match started from the 1997/1998 season.

1997/1998: Inter Milan (Italy) defeated Lazio by 3-0.

1998/1999: Parma (Italy) defeated Marseille (France) by 3-0.

1999/2000: Galatasaray (Turkey) defeated Arsenal on penalties after a goalless Normal time of play.

2000/2001: Liverpool (England) defeated Deportivo Alaves(Spain) by 4-3 in Extra-time, after a 4-4 draw in Normal time.

2001/2002: Feyenoord(Netherlands) defeated Borussia Dortmund by 3-2.

2002/2003: Porto (Portugal) defeated Celtic(Scotland) by 3-2.

2003/2004: Valencia (Spain) defeated Marseille by 2-0.

2004/2005: CSKA Moscow(Russia) defeated Sporting CP by 3-1.

2005/2006: Sevilla (Spain) defeated Middlesbrough(England) by 4-0.

2006/2007: Sevilla(Spain) defeated Espanyol by on penalties after a 2-2 draw.

2007/2008: Zenith St. Petersburg (Russia) defeated Rangers (Scotland) by 3-1.

2008/2009: Shakhtar Donetsk (Ukraine) defeated Werder Bremen(Germany) by 2-1.

2009/2010: Atletico Madrid(Spain) defeated Fulham(England) by 2-1.

2010/2011: Porto (Portugal) defeated fellow Portuguese side, Braga by 1-0.

2011/2012: Atletico Madrid(Spain) defeated fellow La Liga side, Athletic Bilbao by 3-0.

2012/2013: Chelsea(England) defeated Benfica by 2-1.

2013/2014: Sevilla(Spain) defeated Benfica on penalties after a goalless Normal time of play.

2014/2015: Sevilla(Spain) defeated Dnipro Dinpropetrosk by 3-2.

2015/2016: Sevilla(Spain) defeated Liverpool FC by 3-1.

2016/2017: Manchester United(England) defeated Ajax by 2-0.

2017/2018: Atletico Madrid(Spain) defeated Marseille by 3-0.

2018/2019: Chelsea(England) defeated London rivals, Arsenal FC by 4-1.

2019/2020: Sevilla(Spain) defeated Inter Milan by 3-2.

2020/2021: Villareal(Spain) defeated Manchester United on penalties after a 1-1 draw in Normal and Extra time.

2020/2021: Final to be Played On 18th May, 2022, at Ramón Sánchez Pizjuán, Seville, Spain.

Hope this is helpful. Don't forget to like, comment and share. Follow SirKinGsEliTe for more football Historical data and updates.

Content created and supplied by: SirKinGsEliTe (via Opera News )

Europa Conference League Premier League UEFA Cup UEL Union of European Football Associations


Load app to read more comments