Sign in
Download Opera News App





FIFA World Cup

[OPINION]:Top 9 Greatest African Footballers that deserve the Balloon d’Or award

Football is no doubt, the most popular sport Africa and over the years, many great players have risen from Africa that can compete with their counterparts all over the world.

The FIFA Balloon ‘d’Or is an annual association football award presented to world’s best men’s players.

Here are the 9 African players who deserve the award.

9. Raban Madjer (Algeria)

One of the most prolific Algerian internationals in number of games and goals, Madjer played in two World cups with his national team, helping it to its first ever participation in 1982. He is widely regarded as the best Algerian footballer ever and he is also a legend for FC Porto where he won nine major titles and scored more than 150 goals.

8. Seydou Kieta (Mali)

Seydou Kieta is a formal Malian former footballer, a versatile midfielder who operated both as a central or defensive midfielder. He is best known for scoring Valencia’s fastest-ever goal on March 27, 2014 sand winning 14 titles during his time in Barcelona.

7. Essam Kamal El Hadary (Egypt)

Although he is a goalkeeper, El Hadary has made over 150 international appearances for his nation since his debut in 1996. He has won the Africa cup of Nations four times, and was named the tournament’s best goalkeeper on three occasions.

6. Roger Milla (Cameroon)

He scored 438 goals in794 matches throughout his professional career. He won the African player of the year award twice and also won the nation’s cup for Cameroon twice. He made world cup all starting and was third highest goal scorer in 1990.

5. Jay-Jay Okocha (Nigeria)

Okocha who is best known for his confidence and trickery with the ball, technique, creativity, control and dribbling skills. Due to his skill and nickname he was described as being so good that they named him twice.

4. Kanu Nwankwo (Nigeria)

He won a UEFA champions league medal, a UEFA cup medal, 3 FA cups medals and 2 African player of the year award. He is one of the few players to have won the premier league, FA cup, champions league, UEFA cup and an Olympic gold medal. A true Legend

3. Yaya Toure (Ivory Coast)

One of the greatest African player of all time, Toure was voted the African footballer of the year for 2011, 2012, 2013 and 2014 consecutively.

He was part of the Barcelona team that won 6 six trophies in a calendar year in 2009.

2. Didier Drogba (Ivory Coast)

One of the premier league’s greatest strikers ever and definitely a Chelsea legend. He was named African player of the year twice and finished top three 8 times. He won 4 premier league titles, 4 FA cups, 3 English league cups, 2 community shields and 1 UEFA champion’s league title. He also won the premier league golden boot title.

1. Samuel Eto O’ (Cameroon)

He has won 4 African player of the year awards and also won Olympic in 2000 before helping Cameroon seal the AFCON title on two other occasions. He scored 130 goals for Barcelona and won 2 UEFA champions league titles for them. He made both UEFA and FIFA teams of the year twice and was third in the 2005 edition of FIFA World’s best player award.

Feel free to share your thoughts and don't forget to follow me for more updates. THANKS FOR READING

Content created and supplied by: Victorraye (via Opera News )

African Cameroon Essam Kamal El Hadary Roger Milla Seydou Kieta


Load app to read more comments