Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




Premier League

The only English manager to win the premier league

The premier league is the top level of the English football league system. Contested by 20 clubs, it operates on a system of promotion and relegation with the English football league (EFL). Seasons run from August to May with each team playing 38 matches (playing all 19 other teams both home and away).

Howard Wilkinson (born 13 November 1943) is an English former footballer and manager. To date, he remains the last English manager to win the top flight league in England. He later had two spells as caretaker manager of the English national team. Wilkinson is currently the chairman of the League Managers Association.

Despite having a low-profile playing career, Howard Wilkinson embarked on a successful managerial career. He won the First Division championship in 1992 with Leeds United, the final season before the creation of the Premier League. To date, he remains the last English manager to win the top-flight league in England.

Content created and supplied by: Drwest24 (via Opera News )

English Howard Wilkinson League Managers Association Leeds United Premier League


Load app to read more comments