Sign in
Download Opera News App

Sports

 

Soccer

 

La Liga

VAR Has Done It Again. See What Chelsea's Azpilicueta Did To Carrasco Which Wasn't Penalised

In a high-profile game like Chelsea versus Atletico Madrid, it's crucial to avoid refereeing mistakes which could end up costing a team.

As expected, Chelsea started their second leg clash with Atletico on a bright note and displayed some attacking intent that showed they meant business.

But the away side could have taken the lead when a moment of miscommunication from between Azpilicueta and Mendy made Carrasco to go for the ball and for a moment, it really seemed he would get it.

As shown in this photo, Yannick Carrasco went for the ball but was unable to catch it because of Azpilicueta who obviously halted his opponent's stride.

But surprisingly, Chelsea's skipper wasn't penalised for something which could have turn things around for Diego Simeone's side.

The Blues will later go on to take the lead through a well-worked counterattack that saw three summer signings Havertz, Timo Werner and Hakim Ziyech all link up to open the scoring.

So back to the main gist, in your honest opinion was that a penalty or not? Do you think VAR could have done better or do you side with their controversial decision?

Content created and supplied by: ManuelCIA (via Opera News )

Azpilicueta Chelsea Hakim Ziyech Timo Werner Yannick Carrasco

COMMENTS

Load app to read more comments