Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




Premier League

5 Football Clubs That Changed Their Names

1. Manchester United 

Nicknamed "the Red Devils", the club was founded as Newtown Heath Lancashire and Yorkshire Railway in 1878, changed its name to Manchester United in 1902 and moved to its current stadium, Old Trafford, in 1910.

2. Manchester City was Founded in 1880 as Saint Mark's, it became Ardwick Association Football Club in 1887 and Manchester City in 1894.

3. Real Madrid

Real Madrid was founded as Madrid Football Club. After moving between grounds the team moved to the Campo de O'Donnell in 1912. In 1920, the club's name was changed to Real Madrid after King Alfonso XIII granted the title of Real (Royal) to the club.

4. West Bromich Albion

West Bromwich Albion was founded in 1878 as West Bromwich Strollers. The team was renamed West Bromwich Albion in 1880.

5. Everton was initially formed as Saint Domingo FC, the football team was renamed Everton in 1879 after the district of Everton.

Content created and supplied by: Anike (via Opera News )

Manchester City Manchester United Old Trafford Real Madrid Red Devils


Load app to read more comments