Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




UEFA Champions League

Six Players That Have Won The UCL With Two Different Clubs

The UEFA Champions League is widely watched by supporters across the world. However, six players have clinched the title with two different clubs which many of these supporters would like to know.

A reminder that Chelsea is currently the defending champions after beating Manchester City by 1-0 in the final in Portugal last season. Real Madrid remained the only Club with the most UCL trophies in history.

So, here are the six players who have won the UCL with two different clubs:

1. Toni Kroos

The German began his career in Bayern Munich and made his debut as a 17-year-old in 2007. He won the UCL for the first time with the German club in the 2012/13 season when they defeated fellow Bundesliga club Borussia Dortmund by 2-1.

photo credit: UEFA

After joining Real Madrid in the summer of 2014, Kroos  won the UCL a season later and went on to win three consecutive times with the Spanish club.

photo credit: Goggle Photos

2. Edwin Van der Sar

The retired goalie is widely considered as one of the greatest goalkeepers of all time. He started his career at Ajax and won the UCL with them at the age of 25 in the 1994/95 season.

photo credit: Goggle Images

He joined premier league club, Manchester United in 2005 and won his second UCL title in 2008 when they defeated Chelsea on penalties in Moscow.

photo credit: Getty Images

3. Deco

The 2004 UEFA player of the year is also among the players who have won the UCL with two different clubs.

The ex-Portugal midfielder was instrumental to FC Porto's UCL success in 2004 and also to FC Barcelona's triumph in 2006. He retired from football in 2013.

photo credits: Goggle Photos

4. Xabi Alonso

The ex-Spanish midfielder is currently the manager of Real Sociedad Team B. He is regarded as one of the best players in his position during his playing days.

He won the UCL with Liverpool in the 2004/05 season and with Real Madrid in the 2013/14 season.

photo credits: Goggle Photos

5. Samuel Eto

The retired African striker is widely considered as one of the best strikers of all time and he won the UCL with FC Barcelona on two different occasions (2005/06 season and 2008/09 season).

photo credits: Getty Images

After switching to Serie A In 2009, he won the UCL with Jose Mourinho's Inter Milan team in the 2009/10 season.

6. Cristiano Ronaldo

The five-time Ballon d'Or winner won the UCL for the first time with Manchester United in the 2007/08 season with their famous win in Moscow.

photo credits: Getty Images

After switching to Real Madrid in 2009, Ronaldo won the Champions League on four different occasions before leaving the Spanish capital.

Thanks for reading

Content created and supplied by: SoccerTravia (via Opera News )

Bundesliga Chelsea Real Madrid Toni Kroos UEFA Champions League


Load app to read more comments