Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




La Liga

Leo Messi sets 2 new records after ending the season as Laliga Top Scorer

The Laliga 2020/21 Laliga season ended with Leo Messi winning the Pichichi Award again for the 5th season in a row, after scoring 30 goals this season, 7 ahead of second placed Gerrard Moreno and Benzema.

Lionel Messi is the first player in LaLiga history to be crowned top scorer in FIVE consecutive seasons.

He surpasses Alfredo Di Stéfano and Hugo Sánchez (both 4) to claim yet another record.

Lionel Messi becomes the first player ever to win 8 League top scorer awards in Europe's top 5 Leagues, surpassing Gerd Müller's record of 7.

Leo Mess Pichichi award by season:

🥇09/10 - 34 Goals

 🥇11/12 - 50 Goals

 🥇12/13 - 46 Goals

 🥇16/17 - 37 Goals

 🥇17/18 - 34 Goals

 🥇18/19 - 36 Goals

 🥇19/20 - 25 Goals

 🥇20/21 - 30 Goals.

The Argentine has now won more League Top Scorer's (8) than his close rival Cristiano Ronaldo (5). 

CR7 on the other hand is only a game away from winning his first League Top Scorer award since 2015, when he beat Leo Messi to the Pichichi scoring a stunning 48 league goals.

Leo Messi trailed CR7 by 3 Golden boot when the Portuguese superstar won his 5th in 2015. Today, Leo is 3 ahead of him!! There will never be a better Footballer than Leo Messi.

Content created and supplied by: Zeeboi598 (via Opera News )

Gerrard Moreno Hugo Sánchez Laliga Leo Messi Lionel Messi


Load app to read more comments