Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




Premier League

John Terry vs Rio Ferdinand, All Trophies And Awards Compared

John Terry and Rio Ferdinand, two prominent figures in English football, have left an indelible mark on the game as exceptional defenders. Throughout their illustrious careers, they have amassed an impressive collection of trophies and garnered numerous accolades. This article aims to provide an in-depth comparison of the trophies and awards earned by these two legends, shedding light on their remarkable achievements.


John Terry

John Terry, who spent the entirety of his professional career at Chelsea, played a pivotal role in their success during his tenure. He clinched an impressive haul of trophies, including:

5 Premier League titles (2004-05, 2005-06, 2009-10, 2014-15, 2016-17): Terry played an instrumental part in Chelsea's dominance in the English top-flight, captaining the side to these title triumphs.

5 FA Cups (2000, 2007, 2009, 2010, 2012): Terry's leadership and defensive prowess contributed significantly to Chelsea's successes in the prestigious domestic cup competition.

3 League Cups (2004-05, 2006-07, 2014-15): Terry played a vital role in helping Chelsea secure victory in the League Cup on three occasions.

1 UEFA Champions League (2011-12): Terry's presence was instrumental in Chelsea's historic Champions League triumph, as he led the team to victory in the final against Bayern Munich.

1 UEFA Europa League (2012-13): Terry's contributions were crucial in Chelsea's victorious Europa League campaign.

Rio Ferdinand

Rio Ferdinand, renowned for his elegance and composure at the back, had a successful career at both Leeds United and Manchester United. His trophy cabinet boasts the following accomplishments:

6 Premier League titles (2002-03, 2006-07, 2007-08, 2008-09, 2010-11, 2012-13): Ferdinand played a vital role in Manchester United's dominance in the Premier League, forming a formidable defensive partnership.

1 FA Cup (2003-04): Ferdinand's defensive prowess was showcased in Manchester United's FA Cup triumph during the 2003-04 season.

3 League Cups (2005-06, 2008-09, 2009-10): Ferdinand's contributions were vital in securing victory for Manchester United in the League Cup on three occasions.

1 UEFA Champions League (2007-08): Ferdinand played a significant role in Manchester United's successful Champions League campaign, culminating in victory in the final against Chelsea.

1 FIFA Club World Cup (2008): Ferdinand's leadership and defensive solidity were instrumental in Manchester United's triumph in the prestigious Club World Cup.


John Terry

In addition to his trophy-laden career, Terry received several individual honors recognizing his outstanding performances:

PFA Players' Player of the Year (2004-05): Terry was honored by his peers as the best player in the English game during the 2004-05 season.

FWA Footballer of the Year (2004-05): Terry's exceptional performances earned him recognition from the Football Writers' Association as the standout player of the 2004-05 season.

UEFA Club Defender of the Year (2004, 2005, 2008): Terry's defensive prowess was recognized by UEFA on multiple occasions, cementing his status as one of the premier defenders in European football.

Rio Ferdinand

Rio Ferdinand, admired for his elegant style of defending, also received recognition for his contributions throughout his career:

PFA Team of the Year (2002-03, 2004-05, 2005-06, 2006-07, 2007-08, 2008-09): Ferdinand's consistent performances earned him a place in the Professional Footballers' Association (PFA) Team of the Year on six occasions.

FIFPro World XI (2007-08): Ferdinand's exceptional abilities were acknowledged globally as he was included in the prestigious FIFPro World XI in 2007-08.

UEFA Team of the Year (2007, 2008): Ferdinand's consistent excellence led to his inclusion in the UEFA Team of the Year for two consecutive years, cementing his reputation as one of the finest defenders in Europe.

John Terry and Rio Ferdinand, both iconic defenders in English football, have enjoyed illustrious careers filled with numerous trophies and accolades. Terry's success at Chelsea, including five Premier League titles, five FA Cups, and European triumphs, showcased his leadership and defensive prowess. On the other hand, Ferdinand's elegance and consistency at Leeds United and Manchester United resulted in six Premier League titles, an FA Cup, and a Champions League trophy.

Both players also received individual recognition, with Terry being named PFA Players' Player of the Year and FWA Footballer of the Year, while Ferdinand earned spots in the PFA Team of the Year and prestigious FIFAPro World XI. Their achievements and contributions to the game have left an indelible mark on English football history, solidifying their positions as two of the finest defenders of their generation.

Content created and supplied by: DeLight01 (via Opera News )

English Terry


Load app to read more comments