Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




Premier League

2 Goalkeepers That Won 4 Golden Gloves Awards In The History Of Premier League

The Golden Gloves award was inaugurated in 2005 by the English FA for the goalkeeper with the highest clean sheets in a season. A lot of goalkeepers have won the award, but only two of those goalkeepers have won it four times.

1. Petr Cech

He won the award in 2005 after he kept 24 clean sheets for Chelsea and won the league too that season. Cech was the only goalkeeper to have won the award with two different teams (Chelsea and Arsenal). He won the award in 2009/2010 with 17 clean sheets, again in 2013/2014 with 16 clean sheets, and again in 2015/2016 with Arsenal.The Czech goalkeeper was regarded as a legend and was very successful with Chelsea.

2. Joe Hart

In the 2010/2011 session, Hart was given the Golden Glove for the first time in his career. He was part of Mancini's team that took the title away from Manchester United on the final day. He went ahead to win it for three consecutive seasons. He left the club after they appointed Guardiola and his name seemed to have faded away. He won four Premier League trophies with the club.

Petr Cech is now a technical director of Chelsea, and Hart seems to be battling for playing time at his club. At Manchester City, Ederson was the last goalkeeper to win the award. And he won it two times in a row. Manchester United Van Der Sar only won it twice, and De Gea once. Allison won it once. Pepe Reina of Liverpool won it three times.

With this season's analysis, Mendy might end up with the award as his club have only conceded 4 goals in the Premier League after 11 games, but since only 12 games have been played, we can write off the other goalkeepers.

Content created and supplied by: Pablo3 (via Opera News )

Cech Czech Golden Glove Joe Hart Petr Cech


Load app to read more comments