Sign in
Download Opera News App





La Liga

"Balon D'or Will Not Be Awarded This Year"- Which Of These Players Should Have Won The Award.

France Football have been responsible for giving this prestigious award since 1956 and it has been agreed that the Ballon d'Or for the world's best players will not be awarded in 2020 because of a "lack of sufficient fair conditions" created by the coronavirus pandemic.

Barcelona's Lionel Messi won the men's prize last year, with USA forward Megan Rapinoe claiming the women's trophy. France Football said awarding a prize in a "crippled" year would "not be worthy" of their history.

Be it as it may there have been some amazing individual performances, record breaking by certain players across Europe. For Example:

1. Robert Lewandowski: The Polish and Bayern Munich's prolific striker has had an excellent season. He scored a total of 51 goals in all competitions plus he won the league.

2. Cristiano Ronaldo: The 5-time winner of the award still has a chance of winning the award as he is Close to his Seria A title and also scored lots of goals this season.

3. Virgil Van Dijk: The "human mountain" is also among the top contenders for the award.

4. Lionel Messi: The Argentine has had a very bad season with Barcelona but he has set some individual records in la liga.

There are so many others like Ramos, Mane, De Bruyne etc.

Content created and supplied by: Mexy98 (via Opera News )

Ballon d'Or Barcelona Cristiano Ronaldo Lionel Messi Megan Rapinoe


Load app to read more comments