Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




FIFA World Cup

2 European Countries That Need Just A Win To Qualify For The 2022 FIFA World Cup

The FIFA World cup qualifier for European teams is almost coming to a climax as teams are already booking their spot at the sports showpiece. Already, Germany and Denmark have qualified for the sporting event.

2 European teams can join Germany and Denmark if they can win their next match. They are:

1. Belgium: the 2021 UEFA Nations league 4th placed team are in the same group with Czech Republic, Wales, Estonia and Belarus. Currently Belarus leads the group with 16 points from 6 games, Czech Republic follows with 11 points from 7 matches. Wales also have 11 points just like Czech Republic but have played one game less. Estonia has 4 points from 6 games while Belarus has accrued 3 points from 7 matches so far. A win for Belgium in their next match against Estonia, will grant them 19 points. Even if Wales win their remaining outstanding fixture, they will have 14 points, and with one match to play, it will be mathematically impossible to catch up with Belgium even if they loose the last game and Wales win.

2. Sweden: the Swedish National team are in the same group with teams like Spain, Greece, Georgia and Kosovo. Sweden leads the group with 15 points from 6 matches. They followed closely by the 2021 UEFA Nations league finalists, Spain with 13 points in 6 matches. Greece has 9 points from 6 matches played so far. Georgia has gotten 4 points from 7 matches while Kosovo also has 4 points from 7 games. Sweden can qualify with a win in their next match. Coincidentally, their next opponent is Spain. A win against Spain will see them with 18 points after 7 matches while the Spanish national team will remain with 13 points from 7 matches too. And with a game to go, it will be mathematically impossible for Spain to overtake them.

Content created and supplied by: Nasagist (via Opera News )

Belgium Denmark FIFA World cup Germany UEFA Nations


Load app to read more comments