Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




La Liga

3 players who should have been nominated for the Ballon D'or.

Just a few weeks ago, the organizers of the prestigious Ballon D'or award released the 30-man shortlist for the award.

Some of the names included in the 30-man shortlist include Lionel Messi, Robert Lewandowski, Jorginho, Karim Benzema, Kylian Mbappe, Pedri Gonzalez, Cristiano Ronaldo, and a host of others.

Image via Daily Post

In this article, we'll be taking a look at 3 players we think should have been on the 30-man shortlist.

Jan Oblak

The first person on our list is Atletico Madrid's goalie, Jan Oblak.

Image via Getty Images

For some reason, the Slovenian star was left out of the 30-man shortlist. The goalkeeper has kept 14 clean sheets in 2021 and was part of the Atletico Madrid team that won the La Liga title.

It's so surprising to see that a player with such great performances didn't make the list of nominees.

Memphis Depay

Another player thinks that he should have been on the 30-man list is FC Barcelona’s Memphis Depay.

Image via Twitter

The Dutch international has been in incredible form for both club and country so far this year.

The Barcelona star has been involved in over 30 goals and assists across all competitions so far this year.

In the 8 matches he's played in the World Cup qualifiers, he scored 9 goals and also gave 8 assists.

Edouard Mendy

After claiming the UEFA Goalkeeper of the Year award a few months ago, many thought Mendy will automatically be a Ballon D'or nominee, however, the Senegalese star was snubbed in the 30-man shortlist.

Image via Getty Images

Speaking about Mendy's omission from the award nominee list, Napoli star Kalidou Koulibaly was quoted as saying, “It’s a real shame that Edouard isn’t one of them. He is the first African goalkeeper to win the Champions League. We have to do double the work of some people to be well judged.”

Drop your opinions about this in the comments section below.

Content created and supplied by: Dozz (via Opera News )

Ballon D'or Jan Oblak Karim Benzema Kylian Mbappe Robert Lewandowski


Load app to read more comments