Sign in
Download Opera News App

News Sports




Serie A

Checkout The Best Attacking Trios In Football History

The success of the attacking trio of any team is measured by their goal record and how well they have been able to dominate their league. Without further ado, let us look at the best attacking trios in the history of football (in no particular order).

6. Gento, Alfredo di Stefano and Ferenc Puskas:

Together, they led Real Madrid to win 5 Champions League trophies at a stretch. Alfredo di Stefano was the brains behind the attack, Ferenc Puskas was the best left footed player at the time while Gento was one of the fastest at the time.

5. Messi, Suarez and Neymar:

For 3 years, the combined terrorism meted out by Messi, Suarez and Neymar were unstoppable. They led Barcelona to win the treble after their first season together. Altogether, they also scored more than 100 goals in their first season together.

4. Bale, Ronaldo and Benzema:

At the same time, Messi, Neymar and Suarez were paving ways for Barcelona, Ronaldo, Bale and Benzema were doing the same thing for Real Madrid. Together, they led Real Madrid to win three Champions League trophies consecutively, four in total. After terrorizing Europe for five years, Ronaldo left Spain to join Juventus.

3. Sadio Mane, Roberto Firmino and Mohamed Salah:

These three players are from Senegal, Brazil and Egypt respectively. Together, they won the Premier League title in 2018 and the Champions League trophy in 2019 for Liverpool. That is a record they are looking forward to replicate this season.

2. Trio Magico:

In the early 1950s, Juventus had a deadly trio consisting of Giampiero Boniperti, John Charles and Omar Sivori. John Charles was voted as the greatest signing in the history of Serie A above the likes of Diego Maradona and Michel Platini. Omar Sivori won the Ballon D'or in 1961. Together, they won 3 Serie A titles in 4 seasons.

1. The Holy Trinity:

Once upon a time, Manchester United boasted of a magical trio consisting of George Best, Bobby Charlton and Dennis Law. Together, they trashed defenses across England and Europe, and also helped Manchester United become the first English club to win the Champions League trophy in 1968.

Follow up and share for more interesting updates.

Content created and supplied by: Simplegist (via Opera News )

Alfredo di Stefano Champions League Ferenc Puskas Neymar Suarez


Load app to read more comments